Sort:  

Actually, Alive is a fork from Skylive but instead of storing the hashes and Skylinks on a centralized server it gets stored on the blockchains instead.

Also it will be getting a brand new UI to post, start and end streams.

Wow that sounds great!

Are you whitelisting hosts for your portal? It took a bit of digging into the siac code but there is a hostcmddb function as I recall that you can specify private keys. It is cool because imo it allows more granularity of control to distribute the infrastructure globally.

The catch is, of course, making sure there are enough whitelisted hosts for redundancy / fault tolerance but I see potential to customize incentive models among other possibilities. In any case, very cool what you are doing and definitely going to keep an eye on this.

Is this going to be open source? If so, would be glad to star the repo and keep an eye out for opportunities to contribute.

Disregard, realized the link is in your reply. 👍

Currently OneLoveIPFS is running an upload-only portal for subscribers (subsidized by me). I don't remember specifying any hosts for whitelisting on my Sia node.

I'm not too sure about what I will be running for Alive in production, as I have to consider the costs of running it on IPFS (cheaper, potentially fewer hosts) vs Skynet (more expensive, more hosts).

Best thing that can happen is that every streamer runs their own IPFS node/Skynet portal that they push their streams to, but I don't see that happening on day one.

I run a Sia host and been planning to run a Skynet web portal; however, I understand many do so at a loss. Would like to develop a reasonable cost model.

Not merely streaming which may be short term but long term data storage. I know there is a lot of power under the hood of nginx, load balancing, reverse caching capability etc.

Just haven't really had the time or motivation to play around with it. Just not yet 👍