You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyx, Cheetah, and Steemcleaners: Witness Update -- May 2018

in #witness6 years ago

Actually, all of my non-production nodes are upgraded, including my RPC node for Cheetah and other tools. :)

I'm holding off on upgrading my producer node at this time, as there's currently an issue with producing blocks that are slightly too big and missing the slot. I'm waiting for a response back on the fix for this, and the effects of it, before I make the swap with the producer node.

Note that the swap for 19.5 to 19.10 is not a consensus change, both are compatible, and both contain all features. It's a change for the back-end, and mostly effects RPC nodes (e.g. with the history plugin), which I've already upgraded.

Sort:  

Hello, @anyx,

First, let me express my sincere appreciation for your comprehensive reply. I am truly grateful for your responsiveness to my inquiry. :D

Thank you for the upgrades you've already done. I wrote to you based on my limited knowledge re: your producer node, which I gleaned from https://steemd.com/witnesses on the advice of @timcliff when I inquired about this on Github.

...both are compatible, and both contain all features.

The particular feature I have been waiting for, literally for years, is the ability (as content creator) to edit my older posts. I feel that this is crucial to my work here, and most of my fellow content creators are of like mind.

And so, if you know of some way that I can exercise that long-promised ability even at the 19.5 release level, I would love to hear it? Or if you have any insight into why your understanding is that 19.5 already contains that greatly desired ability, accessible to me at the level of a simple user?

Thank you again, really, for taking the time to respond. :D

The particular feature I have been waiting for, literally for years, is the ability (as content creator) to edit my older posts.

You can do this already. This is only a soft-consensus change, therefore, any producer can include that TX in the block and all will accept it. So as long as there is a single producer on 19.10 you're good to go -- which there already is.

Thanks, but the interface I use (https://steemit.com) doesn't present me with an [Edit] button on articles older than 7 days... :(

Sadly, we're waiting on Steemit Inc to make this change -- this isn't up to the witnesses.

Thank you.

I understand that Steemit Inc must make the change, but they are waiting for more witnesses to upgrade to 19.10...