You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Anyx, Cheetah, and Steemcleaners: witness update -- Running into limits!

in #witness6 years ago

Having it as part of inflation is one option (and similar to "workers" from other coins like BTS) and I think it could be a good idea.

Eliminating it will result in a spam attack from hell, imo.

This is only true if the bandwidth algorithm remains broken. Imagine a newbie who spams 1000 comments a day. They can either do it once every 20 seconds, or they can do it all in one go: but then they are bandwidth limited and have to wait until the next day. End of the day, same total spam amount.

And can we bring back the 4 post soft limit?

I advocated for removal of this, but I wouldn't mind bringing a variant back in if it were somehow made intuitive.

Sort:  

I wasn't in favor of the 4 post limit. That was a little restrictive. It would be nice to see some variant that would stop the spam bot posters without having to flag them. As it is now, I'm not sure if I've stopped them or if they've just moved on to multiple accounts to do their spamming.

Ok, good to know.
Thanks for all your work.