You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Updated Witness Application

in #witness5 years ago

Dear @anyx

Thank you for your kind and mature comment. Appreciate sharing with me your knowledge.

Regarding whales vs witnesses... each has their own power. The witnesses have the immediate power, but they are beholden to the whales.

It does remind me of power regulators/politicians and big businesses have in real world.

Right now a sad fact is that Steemit Inc has "de-facto" control of the blockchain, since they can immediately elect the entire set of witness positions to be themselves at any point in time. Their ability to do this means everyone is beholden to them at least in some way.

Could it ever change?

ps.

Indeed I am currently in the top 20, but it's a "continuous election" process, so every vote counts and it always counts, as the ranking changes all the time. If I want to stay in the top 20 I still need to get votes!

Perhaps we could help each other. I've some idea which could benefit both of us. What would you say about supporting each other ? As you may noticed I managed to build a solid presence here on Steemit and lately one of my posts reached over 800 comments.

So I have reach and I know quite a number of people on the platform. At the same time Im supporting group of around 70 content creators (mostly blogging about blockchain). Most of them struggled with low RC limits and the majority cannot purchase their own SP because they cannot afford (3rd world countries like Venezuela etc). I delegated 3500 SP of my own resources and few friends supported this cause as well delegating 10-20 SP to each of those people.

If you could consider supporting my efforts then I will surely help you get more voters. It's a win-win-win for everyone. You get voters, all those people will receive extra support and my influence will also grow.

Let me know what do you think

Yours
Piotr