You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: HIVE inflation reduction: thoughts on the next hard fork

in #witness3 years ago (edited)

Steemit, Inc. were selling 800k STEEM a month. When they stopped selling, it made no difference whatsoever to the price.

DAO fund is paying 4660 1600 HBD/day and at current prices, this is 1,399,050 480,000 HIVE per month. We are paying almost 2x more for development than when we had Steemit Inc

Edit: I made an error while calculating how much funds are paid from DAO. The correct number is ~1600 HBD/day.

Sort:  

There has been a lot of focus on reducing sell pressure, but I haven't seen any progress in creating demand.

Most users have enough RCs to transact and it is very clear there will be little to no marketing, proposals are being used to support important blockchain development, but I don't see anything that makes me think Wow, that is going to get Hive noticed.

When people were talking about Hive during the split the price went up.

You can cut the supply down to nothing and still there will be price issues if there is no reason to buy and hold.

Hive is not a charity, people will come when they feel like there is something to gain by holding it.

Start by answering this question...

Why should anyone buy Hive? What FOMO does it evoke, what can they gain from holding it, why do they want more?

It's paying 1.6k HBD per day currently, but it could go up to 8k HBD. Though, I don't think we should pay 66k HIVE (8k HBD) per day while HIVE is at 12 cents.

I manually calculated HDB paid (using https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals), and seems I made some error.
Thanks for correcting me :)

I think you made a fantastic point here. Sometimes, I wonder what the relevance of some of the proposals gulping down this money are to the Hive blockchain. We really need to look at it. Plus,I think the power down window should be reduced to allow more people have the confidence of powering up.

Most of the proposals I recently looked over and supported were fundamental structure related or client creation project-like stuff, but in general, I don't recall seeing anything that just looked wasteful. I wasn't looking at it through that lens, though.
Personally, I don't think we're talking enough about onboarding new users. I posted in more detail below, but generally speaking Hive is more of a VIP lounge than a dance floor and there's no sex in the champagne room or something like that.... I'll workshop it.

None of them would be pointing this out.

I made an error while calculating funds, the correct number is only 1600 HBD/day (under 500k HIVE/month).

Is this really true? I'm in shock.

It's not, I made an error calculating funds, it's actually only 1600 HDB/day.