You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Steem Secret #6: Witnesses Votes Give The Most!

in #witness7 years ago

I'm not very sure of this witness system but I voted you as witness sine my early day in Steemit cause I appreciate yiur contribution to the community very much @jerrybanfield

However I have a question, since the top 20 witness have every say in the future of Steemit. Does this make Steemit any less decentralised?

Sort:  

@fr3eze thank you very much for voting for @teamsteem and me as witnesses! With the top 20 witnesses often rotating in and out, we do have fresh input on a regular basis. That said, having 20 people that make such important decisions for each hardfork has been working so far but still does centralize us significantly. We are doing better than Bitcoin and most other cryptocurrencies in this respect but we still could use a little bit more decentralization especially for witnesses with having the blocks split up more evenly among say the top 30 or top 50 witnesses instead of top 20.