You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Hard Fork 25 Thoughts on the Layer 2

in #witness4 years ago (edited)

CRYPTOCTOPUS: How do we get a marketplace on Steemit?


DAN: Once we have private messaging we will have a classified tag. Posts made in the classified section will have payouts disabled.

Private messages are necessary for exchanging personal information to close the deal (shipping addresses).

We will add escrow support at the blockchain level.

Which 2nd Layer dev is working on this?

Has the memo-encryption feature been fully implemented on DHive? The last time I checked it wasn't and I was forced to use a deprecated library to get the job done on my Good World Order website.

If private messages are so important then why aren't we focusing more on that?

Sort:  

I'm more focused on the foundation of a decentralized second layer. I would be willing to fund the private messaging part to any dev that wants to start working on it now.

After giving it some thought, the most important thing that we need is the escrow functionality. If that's already been implemented on Layer-1, as Dan suggested, then we can do some amazing stuff on Layer-2. Private messaging is only required for shipping physical products.

Dhive's library shows 4 escrow operations:

But, I'm not sure if those types of transactions are currently accepted by the blockchain. I will do some tests tomorrow to find out, unless someone else can enlighten us? @inertia @blocktrades @someguy123

I don't know much about escrow transactions, other than knowing that they are in-fact fully working at the blockchain level last I knew.

I'm sure at least a few libraries have Escrow APIs ready to use - since they were added a good few HF's ago.

(edited)

You're 100% correct.

DHive had a bug but Hive-js worked fine:

.

YESSS!!! Why aren't more devs using this? This is amazing. 🤓

@someguy123: Sorry that I ever doubted you 😅

Have you seen BEECHAT? There is a tool that people can use to chat.