You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: FIVE minutes to a safer Ubuntu experience for noobs AND pros.

in #witness6 years ago (edited)

Ahhhh! Yes I can agree with you there. I wasn't even thinking about the Linux desktop users that might come across this post. On the other hand, killing a few desktops, laptops and servers is how I learned the most valuable lessons early on.

I suppose I was lucky to have learned from the start how to run as root (didn't know there was another way). At some point, the training wheels have to come off I guess, at least for those looking to advance their Linux skills to the next level. (Run it as root!)

As you mentioned, it's still good to have a working handle-brake though, and that was the purpose of this post :)

I'm going to keep your point in mind for any future Linux articles I post. I'll need to consider to remember the day-to-day user and hobbyist more carefully.