You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My witness (late) announcement: Hello Hive I am a witness!

in #witness7 months ago

It was a bit of a joke to explain my decision about going through a VPS, I needed more structure and maybe even more knowledge to push cables from another part of my house to the other part. In addition, my wife wouldn't be very happy about the way that I would pass the cables through the house concerned about the aesthetics. A 24/7 working machine on site would require a bit more investment right now which I can't provide. So sorry if you understood it as a bad thing.

Sort:  

That makes sense. I don't mine bitcoin because the Antminers are 80 decibels. Was considering it when I lived in a place with no utility bills.

I don't think witnesses do much work to keep the servers going and most probably use VPS anyways. It's an issue with the integrity of the blockchain if every witness uses the same VPS so your honesty is appreciated.

Most witnesses have been here a while and contribute to the ecosystem in ways that go beyond renting or running a server. You can have one of my witness votes )

I think we should be honest where we are running the nodes… for sure some witnesses have their own local servers, but for sure I am not the only one renting a VPS. I admire many witnesses that are top 20 or even top 50 there some beautiful examples because like you said they contribute to the blockchain in addition to running a node to process transactions. But also there are many votes in dead (inactive) witnesses so we need for the blockchain newer witnesses … anyways thanks for everything , I appreciated your honest opinion more than everything ! And thanks for the vote!