Hive Witness Announcement -- Finally !

in #witness3 years ago



The serious me

Hi all,

after many years of wanting to get it done I finally started a Hive Witness!

Who am I?

Well, I am around here for quite a while, started back in August 2017 on Steem but was around in the crypto-verse for a bit longer than that.
You might know me from being part of Utopian back in the day where I was covering some roles like moderator and advisor.
I also had some interactive Social Broadcasting shows ( I kept falsely naming them radio shows ) running together with @buckydurddle and @techslut covering a lot of topics out of the Free and Open Source Software Universe, this was broadcasted using the fantastic service of @msp-waves on the PAL Discord Server. I am still amazed at how professional you guys are :)

I have also written many bots connecting with the Hive Blockchain and offering services, like an informational service for the Splinterlands Game (mainly for the guild Legendary Dragons) or Bots that connect Discord and Hive in order to make the data available wherever it might be needed. Most of my developments are done in Python. Educational wise I studied Computer Science and hold a german Diplom (more or less comparable to a masters degree :) )

I also founded the D-A-CH Community that has become a home base for the german speaking community and as well am responsible ( well more or less :) ) for the Discord Server where parts of the community life is taking place.

And last but not least, I was part of the dev team of one of the first games on the Chain, most of you will not remember but it was called Steempunk-Net and was about exploring, looting and fighting in a Steempunk universe directly upon the Blockchain :)



the happy me

Technical Stuff

I thought it might be interesting to post the data of the server where the witness is running upon

  • Hoster : Contabo, a smaller hoster out of Munich, Germany
  • CPU : AMD EPYC
  • RAM : 30GB
  • SSD: 800GB



and me with my frogger hat :)

Next steps

Well, as next steps I would like to move closer to the other witnesses to get a closer look on all the topcis that are currently underway and also support and help in every way I can.

Thanks alot for your time, you can vote for me wherever you can vote for witnesses.

Yours
Jan

ps thanks alot @someguy123 (for the docker) and @rishi556 and a lot of others that posted about the installation and set up of the Witness itself

Sort:  

Bildschirmfoto_2021-06-03_19-43-23.png

!BEER
!invest_vote

Das war einfach, ich habe es getan und einen neuen Witness gewählt. 😎
Hier noch ein !BEER zur Feier des Tages.

About time :)

Engagierte Zeugen braucht der Stock! Daher haste meinen Vote.

!LUV und !BEER für dich, auf dass die Macht weiterhin mit dir sei!

More witnesses is great for decentralization. Congrats on setting it up.

haha well congrats maybe a bit too early given ;) it does not show up in the list yet :)

Probably because you have no votes. I'll give you a temp vote to bring you up for the time being.

Screen Shot 2021-06-03 at 11.58.28 AM.png

ah thank you ! i will do the same :)

Next step should be pricefeed(can be on same server) and witness watcher(on another server) incase your node goes down. https://github.com/someguy123/hivefeed-js is my pricefeed of choice(I contribute to it), and https://github.com/therealwolf42/hive-witness-essentials/tree/master/essentials/watcher is my watcher of choice.

thanks for all the help my dear !


Hey @jedigeiss, here is a little bit of BEER from @muelli for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

@condeas denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@condeas thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !


Hey @jedigeiss, here is a little bit of BEER from @condeas for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Das finde ich Super! Congrats!

Hast schon meine Unterstützung!

image.png

Ja das war eine gute Entscheidung, meine Stimme bekonnst Du.

Liebe Grüße Michael

!invest_vote
!jeenger

@mima2606 denkt du hast ein Vote durch @investinthefutur verdient!
@mima2606 thinks you have earned a vote of @investinthefutur !

Your contribution was curated manually by @mima2606
Keep up the good work!

OpenSource? Danach hattest Du mich bereits verloren, da ich die Witness-Seite auf hatte... ;)

Welcome. Although that AMD EPYC is very overkill for a witness node. You might want to put it to better use, like a full node, it's a server CPU after all, and setup the witness node on a regular CPU.

cool, gevotet :)

Meine Stimme hast du.

Meine Stimme hast du.

the more witnesses here on Hive, the more eyes can check this awesome blockchain. as a witness, i would like you to protect the integrity of the blockchain and uphold the battle-cry of the community to have a strong dynamic decentralized blockchain for the masses.

I voted you as my witness.

Congrats sir

Super, gevoted. Wünsche dir und uns viel Erfolg.


Hey @jedigeiss, here is a little bit of BEER from @quantumg for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

So einen Mann muss man als Zeugen aka Witness wählen.

DONE

und nen !BEER dazu


Hey @jedigeiss, here is a little bit of BEER from @detlev for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

GooD to see you