Witness Update

in #witness2 months ago

So this weekend I was able to get the witness node back online.

I want to take a few moments to go over what happened.

1.) The onboard network card for my HP Gen10 DL160 failed.

2.) Because the network card failed Hyper-V's network manager got corrupted

Here's what I did to fix it.

1.) Ordered and installed a new network card.

2.) Reinstalled Windows server. Yeah really. The bug that corrupted hyperv only has on solution as far as I could find and that's a clean wipe.

3.) Restored virtual machines.

Lessons learned.
I am going to get some faster drives for my desktop and set it up so if my server fails I can switch to it without delay. I think there might be a way to fail over automatically.

Additionally I am going to setup more frequent backups in order to make it easier to restore.

Anyways that's all I have for today. If you have a chance I would appreciate your Vote for my witness.

Thanks.