Diary Of A Wimpy Witness - To Be Continued`

in #witness6 years ago

tears.gif
Dear Diary,
You have probably noticed that I haven't blogged on steemit in a while. This is because I've had to prioritize my business endeavors in order to work on the things that actually feed me every day and keep my well being wholesome ;) . I wont be longwinded about this or try to sugar coat what i'm about to say So for all it's worth and though it pains me to do so, I am officially discontinuing my witness dedicated server, and putting the nodes project on hold. I simply cant afford the witness server, let alone the seed nodes that its supposed to maintain. We (myself and all witness voters) have written less than 20 blocks since we started in march. Perhaps I should have aligned myself with people that had more resources to handle such a task? At any rate, I felt it was worth it, if anything for the experience.

That being said, I will continue to support Steem and develop new applications and adaptations of the blockchain technology via @steembacked app, @chainchoppers , @cellycheck The Steembacked Website, And other projects. By no means is this a resignation or a notice of leave from steemit. The issues that I have attempted to address here on steemit, and the steem blockchain in general are indeed all real. I just had the audacity to believe that most people actually cared about having 24/7 always on access to the steem blockchain and steemit (wallet?) in general but that was not the case. Not to speak for everyone. Some of us do care, and some of us also understand the implications of having every seed node (Effectively, the steem data-center) owned by 7 people. Granted, most of us honestly are like "wtf is a seed node?" and sadly, that includes sharks and whales and also other witnesses with massive influence and steem power whose participation in the Steemit Forever seed nodes project in particular have been non-existent.
Going Forward
I'd still like to contribute seed nodes to the blockchain, steemit and no doubt for my own projects sake. But I won't use a witness server to fund it. I'll hustle and flow and make the money needed for them, and pay for it myself. I still hold the passion to create for the blockchain and manipulate it in exciting new ways. That wont change. I'll also make posts about things that I find interesting. And trust me dear diary, You'll be the first to know when I reboot the nodes and possibly even the witness server. Thanks to EVERYONE who payed attention to me when I cried out about the situation at hand. Those guys are the no doubt among some of the smartest and inspirational folks I have had the pleasure of meeting in my witness endeavors. Please always remain positive and strong. And may the force be with them.

Sort:  

Sometimes a regrouping is a good move. Nice to hear that you are not giving up on steem. Wishing you well in your business endeavours.

Thanks man, I appreciate the positive outlook. It'll all be worth it in the long run.