You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is HF21 a trap?

in #witness5 years ago

Great, succinct summary. I take it you'll be supporting the HF21 then?

Really liked this:

"Fortunately steem-engine has mute features, so even if a whale buys a shit ton to fuck with a community a community thorugh the owner of the issuing account has the ability to mute them. "

Had no idea this feature was built into SE... this has been one of the things I've been concerned about as I research about putting together a proposal for a community to go down the SCOT/Tribe path.

Look, I've posted that I'm uneasy about the culture of flagging; however I'm willing to see whether it actually makes a difference. Changing the creator/curator split I think will be more effective, personally. But then maybe it'll be the combination of the two.

We've all been able to downvote as part of our responsibility in curating the eco-system, and downvotes will still be valued according to stake, will they not? Will having an amount of 'free' downvotes really make a difference? This is the bit I'm sceptical about....

Sort:  

The downvote culture is quite an uneasy feeling. I once so a literal mob destroy a steemit account with downvotes just because they did not like the individual. People have grudges and the power of a downvote with a massive SP bank makes it much more dangerous.

Posted using Partiko Android

Well that's the ugly side of it... cannot be denied.
I do understand that it has its place in the context of curating content - that is, in reducing the share of the reward pool to something which doesn't deserve it.

I'm still yet to understand how the downvote pool will discourage the with-hunt mob mentality... but I am looking to find as much information and opinion as I can.