You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Staying the Course: A Wish, A Witness, A Whale

in #witness7 years ago

Been a sailor myself and therefore I like these analogies very much. When you are out there with nothing but water around, you need skills, passion and determination to face the challenges and a reliable crew, to get home again safely, when the winds get strong and the waves are high.

There are many things on which I very much agree with you, but so far I had found it hard to express that without appearing like some brown noser.. I only joined some three month ago and I "caught fire" immediately, since I felt that there was something that might really change the world for the better. I forgot who said it, but the line ..you have to create a (better) system, that makes the existing structures obsolete... seemed like the answer to many things I had on my mind. "Peace, abundance and liberty" should be there naturally for anyone and the resources are definitely there. Thank you for making that your mission and I hope it will encourage and motivate many to join in on it.

I grew up in cold war Europe and now some of my best friends live in countries which were the former enemy. That alone shows, how absurd it all is.

Although I am a professional artist for many years now, I salute you with a fellow sailor's Fair winds and following seas !

Sort:  

Warm welcome friend. It was Buckminster Fuller who said that. I love that quote.

I see, thanks a lot. One of the leading persons here on steemit must have borrowed it, since it was this quote that really sold me the idea and motivated me to join. Only knew Buckminster Fuller's "spheres", but it looks like I should start reading his books!