You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My Witness Update 💪

in #witness6 years ago

One last thing to note.... I'm curious as to how my monthly more or less informational or just a little boost of gratitude type memos are an issue but witnesses running extremely profitable bid bots who send actual spam promotional messages out daily and sometimes even more than once a day. They know very well and in those situations it's purely spam and purely selfish. Thoughts?

Sort:  

I used to run a service that did what you are doing with mass memos to followers. It was a no self-vote promoter service called @trump3t which I intend to eventually revive. The project lines up with the whitepaper in regard to the prisoner dilemma but I digress.

It's difficult for those of us who rely on no-self voting or not self-botting to be noticed so I understand your resorting to using Steem's messaging. If I may make one recommendation, if you are using scripting to perform these mass messages, perhaps include an opt out option for your followers in the message. I think this may help you. I am willing to assist in scripting that if you need help. Of course, I would ask that I be compensated for my time but I am glad to help.

There are a lot of witnesses that are perpetuating a network with elements that hinder the sustainability of Steem and I do think we need new perspectives. I have been following you and will keep monitoring your progress. Currently, my witness slots are full but that is always subject to change. ;)

Yeah true I'd definitely be open to paying you to help me script that. I do use a script and I figure if people are following me that's the opt in but if you can code a more effective version of that I'd be totally about it!