You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Urgent Community Petition: Steemit Inc. to Stop 34 Mil SP Powerdown!

in #witness5 years ago

I see... is that meaning it’s not open source? Sorry I don’t have much knowledge on how code development works. There are Steemit clones, so the code must be available. But I’m sure that would mean migrating away from steemit.com which most probably don’t want to do.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Sort:  

It is open source, anyone can submit code but it is needed to he approved by Steemit because they own the public repo.

So one way or another, they fully control steem and of course steemit. I just wonder, maybe them selling steem off and giving up on control could be the best way for steem from now on. Now their control can be measured in $ a few (dozen?) million, soon it may get back into hundreds of millions.

I'm just a tiny fish both as a steem holder and knowledge 'holder'. But looking from the roadside I'm on, seems the drama will continue.

EDIT: Now I see, Steemit Inc and Ned power down plus own github ownership, they will retain control on the blockchain and fork proposal that didn't get traction at first will not be able to change this, even if community would agree, after powering down and moving funds to exchanges.