Sort:  

Dear @upheaver

Im not sure what I'm kidding about. I've been living in south east asia for past 11 years and I don't know much about Crete. Actually I know only that it supposed to be very touristic. So I would appreciate if you could share with me your experience and knowledge.

Yours
Piotr

"Do they have cinemas there" sounds like one of those bad Hollywood movies where Greeks are riding donkeys while dressed in rags. This is a modern European society, so it's closer to what you would find in other European cities than let's say Asia.

The only touristic place in Crete is Hersonisos / Malia, where UK's youth spend their drunk summers, the rest of the island is gorgeous and your experiences can range from complete wilderness in south-east side of the island to a modern metropolis in Heraklion.

Dear @upheaver

You managed to put a huge smile on my face :) thank you.

Like I said: I know nothing about Crete. I've been to Santorini and Athens 2 years ago and my impression was that all islands are still very undeveloped.

I noticed that the population is very small (less than 700k in entire island) so it gaved me some particular picture of small towns build only for tourist, which are almost all closed after holiday season.

All greeks were telling me that during winter most people move to mainland and islands are deserted. So that's why Im asking all those questions.

This is a modern European society, so it's closer to what you would find in other European cities than let's say Asia.

Good to know. Thx

modern metropolis in Heraklion.

Is that were're you staying?

Yours
Piotr