You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The HIVE FREEDOM PROXY: Over $1.7M Worth of Hive Witness Votes Available For Serious Free Speech Witnesses.

in #witness2 years ago

It has been a bit worryingly difficult to get witnesses to do anything at all to try to receive a large witness vote from me here. In fact, I don't think anyone has provided any evidence at all yet!
I am looking more for actions than words, though publicly spoken words in important conversations/ways/places is relevant. Examples might include organising counter upvotes on dubious downvotes, developing apps that change how Hive works in order to protect free speech, being a free speech activist outside of Hive in some way - these sorts of things.
Promoting decentralisation in practical ways is also relevant, but since anyone can just say 'I support free speech', we need something more than words.

Sort:  

I understand.
I am probably not the right candidate for what you want to see, then.

Anyone can take action now to become such a candidate! :)

As mentioned above, I see enough potential here to increase the freedom of expression for all sorts of people.
I think I can have more impact, if I don't fight against windmills. My main mission is to support weaker accounts in building their own hive power and reach and not by opposing other people.
I have downvoted ocd for a while, confronted acidyo on chain and pharesim in private, but that's a about as much as I see beneficial for what I am trying to achieve.

When the weaker accounts are crushed routinely, with no way to respond then there is only so much help that can be provided without addressing the cause of their issue. Sure, accounts that post unchallenging content may not have such problems, but then what is the point in saying we support freedom of expression if the caveat is that the expression has to conform to a few people's opinions? lol.

If you provide some links to your downvotes and discussions with these folks then I'll definitely take a look. Thanks.

Phew, that would take me a while.

I don't think it's worth it, as I am not who you are looking for anyways.
Maybe if I find the time, I'll write a script for finding those downvotes and discussions, as some of that stuff is old... and I want to show proof, just for the record.

Oh ok, I didn't realise you meant that the posts were so old.

I made this post recently:

https://peakd.com/ocd/@felixxx/hive-blockchain-vs-curation-business

In the comments you can see how crazy acidyo is.
And that we go way back.

However, that was not about free speech, but more about how they influence content and its rewards here.