You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Open letter to all witnesses and to all of you others in Steemit

in #witnesses5 years ago (edited)

Excellent post, it's important everyone not only understands they should vote for a Witness - but also they understand why they are doing it. To me it is important to vote at least a few Witnesses - because for the Top Twenty at least they keep this place running day to day. I actually use all thirty of my votes, and will regularly adjust them according to what I see being done (or not for that matter). Of course we see some leave and their servers stop producing blocks, which it often seems painfully slow for people to unvote for them.

Why Vote for @c0ff33a as a Witness? I joined the Steem Blockchain March 2017 and have run Witness servers since May 2018. I now run two Witness servers, primary and back up - and they consistently process transactions and blocks when required - during HF21 / HF22 I was able to maintain running with minimum downtime thanks to installing the patch within half an hour of it being released (and I had to wake up in the middle of the night to do it). As far as running servers go I believe I am solidly reliable, quickly updating to the latest versions of the software.

@c0ff33a Witness is also joint team with @derangedvisions, who can answer any questions required but I will say he runs @derangedcontests with a price fund straight out of his own pocket. He also has a big @creativecoin stake and is an active curator over there.

As for myself, what I have always done since joining is stick to that Proof of Brain theory Steem is built on - reading and rewarding posts on content value - and leaving comments. My curation rewards are not great because I also support the smaller accounts that get few rewards, I have always felt that for the Social side of the Steem blockchain to grow it needs all accounts to feel appreciated - or there is little incentive for new ones to join.

I have given delegations of Steem Power to various communities over the year, and ran a competition with @welcomewagon to support their new accounts with a small delegation. I am repeating that this week with @steemterminal to help support the new users they have - it's not a massive delegation but will help them maybe get a little more curation rewards and support the posts they like better.

I have also never powered down, Witness server costs are funded out of my own pocket - not that the block production rewards come close to covering it at the moment. And I have been actively investing in more Steem to grow my stake.

I like to think that I am quite an active Witness, and a vote for me is helping toward everything I do around encouraging people and communities to grow.

Sort:  

great feedback @c0ff33a

thank you for what you write 👍

Thank you for creating a valuable and engaging post, and your continued support of my Witness.

Weren't you also one of the Stewards of Gondor chosen by @fulltimegeek to receive a moderate delegation in order to better distribute Steem through upvotes and engagement?

Yes you are correct I did get what was a quite sizeable 5000 Steem Power as part of that inspirational project by @fulltimegeek for a number of months. It was one of the many factors that led me to be a Witness, and it has in many influenced how I interact on Steem Blockchain and why I always try to give back to others - as well as delegating to people too.

Posted using Partiko iOS

I am happy to note that you confirm my assessment of that experiment as an example of how to reverse the problem Steem has with user retention and put upwards pressure on Steem price.

Thanks!

I would agree, I think everyone who received that delegation has gone on to do great things on this platform in one way or another and become valued members of their particular communities.