You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sicarius Witness Update: Issues Resolved! (Quick bonus guide for current/future witnesses with similar issues)

in #witnessupdate3 years ago

Thanks for the help and the pizza, I appreciate it! Being the tech nerd that I am, I have a few ~2013-14 generation HP proliant and dell poweredge servers in my home office that I have picked up second hand as retired gov systems, but they are in great working order.

I am running my node on a native linux ubuntu installation on a semi souped up dell poweredge T320 that I just added 64 gb of RAM, though I may move it to my old dell R730 virtualization server in the future as I have more resources on that. I recently got my ISP to give me a static IP and a 2 gigabit direct fiber line. I'm starting to feel like I have my own datacenter in my home office lol (it runs a solid 82 degrees in there in the summer and I don't have to use my furnace in the winter anymore, which for context, I live in an area that has frequent sub-zero temps from Nov-Mar 😂)

Sort:  

Haha I know that 82 degree feeling, that's pretty much the min my room currently gets too.

Wish I could get a static IP but UK ISPs are really arsey for giving home broadband a static IP cause it's a 'businesss' thing, hense why I currently don't have a public facing api.

I've always wanted to run a server rack in my room but the noise and heat is a be nono :D My computer is hot and noisy enough as it is. I used to have a old intel server with like 8 fans in it and it sounded like a bloody jet plane.. Behind 3 doors...

Those old intel servers were absolutely terrible about noise, I have a couple that run a little louder but the server with my witness on it is actually super quiet most of the time. Just harddrive spin noises when there is any sort of load. Its all contained in my home office though, which pretty much only I occupy most of the time (occasionally maybe my fiance does some masters homework in there lol) so if there is a lot of noise and heat, I am the only one for it to bother haha. My next home improvement project is going to have to be to build a ventilation system!

I actually lucked out with the static ip, most ISP's in the US here also usually won't give out a static ip on a residential line. I live in a more rural state (South Dakota, home of Mount Rushmore and not much else) so some ISP's can be a little more lenient if you find the right person to ask a favor, and I stumbled into the right person. :)