Wiwcontest - New Weekly Theme - Animals

in #wiwcontest6 years ago

HEADS UP FOR A NEW THEMED WIWCONTEST!


I thought I would give you the heads-up for next week's wiwcontest! Going forward, I will be choosing a theme each week, and you will be able to submit up to three images for the theme, either in separate posts, or all in one post.

Starting at midnight EST tonight, I will accept only images following the contest theme for the week, which is ANIMALS.

Tomorrow, I will announce the winners of this week's contest and give another reminder about the theme. The guaranteed award for this week's winners is 2 SBD, thanks to a generous contribution by @ shadowspub. Thanks also to @saffisara for her generous monthly contributions which give the awards a boost on one week per month!

Rooster macro.jpg
Image ©Diane Macdonald. All Rights Reserved.
Click on the image to view full screen!
My stock image of can be licensed at Getty Images [here]

CameraCanon EOS 5D Mark II
LensEF100mm f/2.8 Macro USM
Exposure1/60 sec; f/10; ISO 2000
Post-processingAdobe Photoshop® CC 2017 and Adobe Camera Raw


divider.png

Winners will be chosen from all the entries for the week and will be chosen based on:

  1. Technical merit
  2. A predominance of white in the image
  3. Being pleasing overall to the eye.
  4. Visual IMPACT

The three WINNERS will receive an equal share of 100% of SBD from the previous week's winners' announcement post plus any donations that come in for the week, or 1.0 SBD each, whichever is greater.

  1. Here are the rules:Photograph an image with a PREDOMINANCE of white (This means YOUR OWN WORK!)
  2. Enter up to 3 times following the week's theme.
  3. Add the #wiwcontest tag to each entered image
  4. Upvote this post, so that we can spread the word and earn some more SBD for the prize money. ONLY THOSE UPVOTING THIS POST WILL QUALIFY TO WIN. THE MORE THIS POST IS WORTH, THE GREATER THE PRIZE MONEY WILL BE_. Resteeming is not required, but would help to raise awareness and hence raise the award money!


divider.png


Thanks to @juliank for the #macrophotography contest. You can read about the rules here


divider.png


Thanks for taking the time to read this! I appreciate it. Please check out my INTRODUCEYOURSELF post for my photography-101 account hereand Upvote and Follow if you wish.


TEAMCANADA-SIGN - smallest.png

dmcamera steemusa banner.png

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Check The Daily spotlights of 3 February 2018! You missed one? ----> #dailyspotlights
Your quality post caught my attention and I hope you benefit from my resteem. My followers have a refined appreciation for quality art. You might also enjoy my curated collection. To see the quality posts I have curated via resteem, see my blog @pixresteemer. If you want to know more about me and my mission, please check my introduction.

Hi Diane! So from now on the themes are weekly?

Yes, correct. There are far more people entering now, and with a potential of 7 entries each person per week, it has been getting more difficult to manage. Choosing winners with flowers, architecture, animals etc. all in the same pool, has become more difficult than it was at the beginning when there were just a few entries.

Will the themes rotate through the wiw categories you have already established?

Yes, for the most part. I'll announce it each week though, so it may not be in the same order as whiteiswhite. It's going to be easier for animals to compete against animals etc., and definitely easier for me to choose winners from within a category.

It is totally understandable! You are awesome! :)

I saw your post on Discord and came over to upvote. I had to change the hashtag in my last post since it wasnt an animal- darn. I understand your reasons for doing things this way @dmcamera How's the chrysallis?

Thanks! Sorry about that! I’ll go check outyour post! I tried to give enough advance warning for today. Lol! The chrysallis is still doing ok, i believe. I bring it indoors on very cold nights. It’s taking a while, but cooler weather makes it stay like thst for longer periods.

I think thats a god idea for changing to a weekly theme :)

good luck and I hope you get so many entries

I believe so too. The contest is evolving and change is inevitable! It should be better for competition now. I won’t have to choose between a building and a flower. Lol! I had to start the way I did to get enough entries, but now it’s time to move on!

Yes that makes such sense I need to start something up soon

Diane, where are you posting on Discord?

PAL, Photofeed, Thealliance and Steemusa.

count with me I love, happy sunday friend

Cool. Enjoy yor Sunday too! 😊

Can you put all 3 entries in the same post?

Yes you may. 😊

upvoted resteemed! thanks for the information. I will watch out for the new weekly themes. sorry I haven't been by sooner. been super crazy but I think changing it to weekly would be great!!!! much love !

It’s hard to keep up with it all. I just jump in now and again for other contests too. Just participate when you can! It’s great to have you! 😊

Thanks... I am doing this 7 days of love contest.. and it's been mind boggling time consuming. I don't know how you do .. mad props!

hehe! Those who do the contests big time use bots to find the entries that qualify. Out of my league, I'm afraid. It's blood, sweat and tears for me! LOL!

I am chicken breeder friend, a good post friends.

Now that's a funky chicken, your contests are legendary but I can't take a good photo for the life in me -_-
c0ff33commentaimage.png
#thealliance

Haha! I bet you can! I like your signature! Thanks for stopping by!

I resteemed this so I will remember. I have a white chicken lol Maybe she will model for me...

A white chicken will be a perfect model. Lol!😂😊👌

Yay! I finally did a Freewrite again! :-)

I like your format change. Here is my entry: https://steemit.com/wiwcontest/@trulafountaine/wiwcontest-animals-sea-gull . Hope it's white enough.
sea-gull.jpg

Thanks! Yes, that’s the idea! He looks like he is eying you with suspicion!😊

Great head shot :)

Thanks. Lol! Perhaps he can use it for his modeling career! 😂

Nice one i have many photos of white flowers , animals and ect ..it good to know i can make use of them now. Thanks for running this contest i just noticed it in Discord :)

Also can you please tell me from what day does the theme contest start till deadline day. Thanks
Upvoted and Resteemed.

It’s Sunday-Saturday. You will find it here, along with the rules. That’s the post you need to look out for every week and make sure you Upvote if you are participating. I posted this one to let everyone know that the contest was changing from the old format. I look forward to seeing your work!😊

Thank you it will be a pleasure to participate in your contest so happy to see you running this contest wishing you all the best :)