Being a Black Woman in the Corporate World

in #woman5 years ago

I am a Lead and have been one for years. I just got a very small raise and title change 5 months ago. This new lead under the same boss is all buddy buddy. They speak the same language is what I think. Big words that only they know of to make others look dumb. They need to explain to you as you are not as smart as they are but when there is a problem, I am the first one the both of them run to to get it solved.

I tell my team advice that is short and sweet and they understand quickly. I don’t use big confusing words that confuse them to make myself look good. The way I train them, people can’t believe how quickly they catch on. It is not rocket science as my boss and the other Lead try to make it out to be. Do the work how I tell you and it will be a breeze. Do the work as they tell you and you will be stuck all day. Constantly coming to them for questions, which makes them feel good AND makes them irritated with you as you should have caught on by now. No, they will never catch on with all the big words you use. I think they go home and pick 5 new big dumb smart words to throw at people every day.

I look stupid but I’m really not. I say this a lot as it is how I feel. There are few African Americans in this building and I am the only one that is a Lead. People look at me like I kissed some butt to get the position. No, my friend, I really am smart and know my job and theirs. Maybe I am a threat to them and that is why they look at me like they do.