You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Menstruation a curse to Nepali women - How women are dying because menstruation is "impure"

in #women7 years ago

Ugh, because nothing celebrates life like time in an isolation chamber. This is a classic example of why not all cultural traditions are worth venerating.

I think proper education in the grassroot level is only the solution of this problem.

Agreed 100%. This is how the battle against ignorance is won. Awesome (although incredibly infuriating!) post!

Sort:  

Thank you @generikat. I'm actually working on it. Trying to educate people around me. Trying to make lives of my mothers and sisters more comfortable. Menstruation is a taboo in most middle and upper middle class families of Nepal too. I think education begins from home, so maybe we Nepali men should start making this 'burden' light on women so that everyone learns and catches up.