You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My body has long ago stopped being conventionally beautiful, but is that a problem?

Such an important post. You really are bringing out the topics that need light and love, aren't you. lol! Yes, we age. Our bodies go through so much. And we need to learn, as a society, to celebrate the aging process, to celebrate the different, infinite expressions of beauty. To not be ashamed of losing the "perfection" of maidenhood to the powerful vulnerability of being a mother. And to honour the beauty of the crone, as well. Keep writing, Isabelle. Your words are healing. Thank you!

Sort:  

Thank you so much for your kind words. After I wrote this post, another thought occurred to me. Why do we value beauty so much? Why do we not value strength, character, endurance above beauty? Beauty is not a redeeming quality, beauty doesn't help anyone. Also, you don't really have any control over whether you are beautiful. I just find it strange that we try to attain beauty rather than any other quality.

I am not sure I agree that we cannot control whether or not we are beautiful.