A simple, yet beautiful Computer Desk.

in #woodworking6 years ago (edited)

I put this project aside for a while, because the wood I chose at first, became too hard for me to work with, since I am still a beginner Woodworker. You can see in one picture, in the background, the original wood, I was trying to make the desktop out of. It's called Rustic Hickory. I absolutely love it, but, I just couldn't plane it down, or sand it enough to level it out. I worked and worked and worked on it for more hours than I want to admit to. But, I know there's a time, to just, walk away. Not to never come back, but, give it a rest until I advance my skill level.

So, I started making a new desktop, out of Poplar. I absolutely love Poplar. For anyone thinking about getting into Woodworking, and continue on, into Hardwoods, it's hard to beat Poplar as a great starter Hardwood. It's inexpensive, super easy to work with, terrifically strong, and doesn't weigh a ton. Another one to keep in mind, is white, or red Oak. I joined these boards using Titebond II glue, using a Bisquit Joiner, with number 20 bisquits. This wood sands like a dream. Even in raw form, it only has a very light abrasive feel to it, so you can actually hand sand it, without cursing like a sailor. I decided to bring out the darker grain in the wood, by going over it, with my Bernzomatic blow torch, then following it up, with 220 Grit sandpaper. I think I may darken it a little more, but not quite sure. You can see the difference in some of the pictures.

For stands, I used 1/4"x 2" square, stainless steel tubing, that a friend cut and welded for me. They have a nice raw, sort of braised look to them, and it's a nice matchup. Let me know what you think guys!

P.S. I'm sorry I don't have any building progress pictures of it, but, you can see, it's not a hard process. If you have any questions about the build, I would be more than happy to help!005.JPG009.JPG010.JPG011.JPG014.JPG015.JPG016.JPG017.JPG018.JPG022.JPG021.JPG027.JPG029.JPG031.JPG

Sort:  

I've been looking out for another work from you, this is another great one. But try to provide some building progress images and explanations next time. I wanna build something from scratch by following your directives, thank you.

Thank you awesome! I'm not sure what I'm going to make next. Maybe throw out some ideas for me, and I can go from there.

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

1createdwoodworking.jpg