Custom made audio rack for my equipment

in #woodworking6 years ago

DSCN1776.jpg

I just spent the last days building this small solid wood rack that I designed for my audio gear. Since the audio stuff kept expanding on my desk I really needed a special small rack to keep it tidy and to fit under my desk so that I have a cleaner workspace and the gear will get less dust.

I made surfaces of solid cedar wood and then used some niangon leftovers for the rest. I was also fond of the idea to mix some modern aesthetics so I used these metal rods for supporting the upper cedar surface.

DSCN1779.jpg

Then I used a homemade beeswax to polish and protect the wood. Finally I installed a surge protector under the big wooden surface for my power needs.

DSCN1781.jpg

This is the first time I make solid wood surfaces and I really love the result. It is also the first time I don't use a commercial wood finish but instead a homemade beeswax and I hope it turns out ok. The rack itself is very beautiful, but I was so eager to put my stuff on it that I didn't take a picture without the gear.

DSCN1787.jpg

Sort:  

@woodworkcurators is a daily curation service for the woodworking community.

woodlogo2.png

You can read about us here

WIn SBD in our Weekly Woodworking post Competition

We have a woodworking community here on steemit and would welcome you. We have a discord channel, link here: Woodworking on Steem Discord Channel

You did it pretty well! Sometimes we can save a lot of money by doing the things by ourselves.