SILIŅI. DIY kitchen counter made out of pallets????

in #woodworking6 years ago

I already have mentioned several times, that we used to live in the capital and that I made "furniture" out of pallets. This is what I mean by that. This is my build that I'm proud about and not ashamed to show it to others.

2014-12-21 11.50.24.jpg

Click the picture, for full size.

When we got the apartment for rent, it was shit. I'm sorry, but it was shit. People who lived there before us... I don't know what they where think / doing, but the apartment was dirty and disgusting. My wife cleaned the grease gas stove, but when we turned it on - THERE WAS NO GAS. turned out the stove was damaged and the gas was cut off. Sink cabinet was all rotten and was falling apart. So we decided to take everything out and make a "new" one. I'm sorry but I don't have any "before" pictures - it would be fun to look at them as well.

This is what it looked like when everything was taken out.
2014-03-12 11.37.31.jpg

I found a place where I can get some pallets for free - we didn't want to spend too much money on this apartment. I cut off a little bit of the pallets width. I guess standard pallet was 80 centimetres [31.5 inches] - I made it around 60 centimetres [23.5 inches]. I made some simple "legs" that hold up the front and the back was screwed to the wall.
2014-03-15 16.50.24.jpg

Cut out a place for the sink.
2014-03-15 16.59.11.jpg

Made sure that it's a good fit.
2014-03-15 16.59.26.jpg

Then I got some laminated sheets / cut them for the necessary size and cut out the place for the sink.
2014-03-16 20.41.44.jpg

Once again made sure that it's a good fit and glued it in with silicone.
2014-03-16 21.19.15.jpg

Got another pallet to make the surface bigger. And from the small peace that I cut off of the pallet, I made a small cup holder.
2014-03-19 17.16.24.jpg

Now it's starting to look like something.
2014-03-19 17.16.52.jpg

And this is the final result. I installed the third pallet, to make a shelf for kitchen items. Made some improvements to the cup holder. And the thing I'm most proud of - I made drawers inside the pallet.
2014-12-21 11.50.24.jpg

I'm super proud how it all turned out at the end. All of our friends that came to visit us, where amazed at how good it looked.
The only thing that I would do it differently - I would NOT use screws to fix the laminated sheet. I would use glue because screws were in the way from time to time and that's an extra opportunity for moisture to destroy laminated sheet as well. After all, it is just a piece of paper.

I'm planning to repeat this project in our barn. It's a super easy way to make a big, strong surface to work on.

Thats it for now.

Hope you will have a great day ;)

Sort:  

Wow I really like that kitchen! I shall shortly be steeming a blog about my pallet framed workshop!!
Keep steeming awesome things!!!

Thanks. Good luck with the workshop.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted by SteemMakers. We are a community based project that aims to support makers and DIYers on the blockchain in every way possible. Find out more about us on our website: www.steemmakers.com.

If you like our work, please consider upvoting this comment to support the growth of our community. Thank you.

This post has been resteemed by @woodworkcurators
woodlogo2.png

Daily promotion and curation for the Woodworking community.
You can read about us here

Win SBD in our Weekly Woodworking Competition