You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Controlling the GAS (gear acquisition syndrome)

I have some issues with GAS myself. However, I am replacing my older, worn tools and adding specific tools that I have long been able to justify. A couple grand here, a couple grand there, and it starts adding up, so I have been approaching it with caution, and have almost finished the planned replacement and upgrade to my abilities.

Working on a high, slanted ceiling today, I had to make a jack to brace some paneling, and yearned for the drywall jack I used to have the ability to use to precisely position 4x8 sheets with ease. But I rarely am faced with a high slanted ceiling and find the expense - and the storage space - the drywall jack would entail insuperable. So, when I do face this issue, I will use a long plank with a crosspiece, as I did today, and sweat more.

A problem is that now I need to unload my old tools, and I'd almost rather donate them than hassle with it. I have like seven drills I don't need, and it's time to empty my excess bins of tools I don't need. Surely someone else would be grateful to have them, as I was when I got them.

Thanks!

Sort:  

oh man... that is the absolute best way of doing things... Ive done the same recently, given some of my old tools to a friend who is just starting. It somehow feels correct, like you didnt lose any money, you gave someone a little treasure.