Just a bit of Sun [A Weird Little Poem]

in #wordchallenge6 years ago (edited)

It was sickening, this heat
I had known, for they had told me as much...
But this?

I had lain there; alone. Alone, save for my wandering thoughts
Who which at the time, unfortunately, seemed to have been avoiding me
And thus, I could not stop it.

And so, amidst as I'm sure you'd imagine my rather stern and forceful expostulation, he - I'm sorry to have to tell you this - He forced himself upon me.
Yes indeed he did - in deep, radiant torrents of light and heat.

Ohhhh dear...
As you may be able to imagine, it was pretty bad.

He pressed his dirty, smoldering and ashy fingers down hard into each and every crevice of my skin
(Which is most painful, you know)
Past my moist and glistening brow, and down across the withered, red and bubbling surface of what had surely once been some poor souls scrunched up dehydrated little raisin of a face

Yes! He ravaged me! Oh and how later I wept!

He held me in it's wicked arms relentlessly, and he ran his thick, messy fingers up and down from the small of my back, towards the soft nape of my delicate neck,
And then all around me!
Yes indeed - finally resting it's great and powerful palm finally on the dead center of my chest, and waited, poised for the kill, just above my baked and battered, and barely fluttering, little heart.

And then, oh I tell you, he beat me - and he beat me good!
He held me down and smacked me. He smacked me in the face, over and over again. With fist, and weapon, and boot too! I'd be shocked if he'd not even bashed my face with his own forehead - the lunatic!

I tell you, it was just no fun. No fun at all.

Yes, well...
He smashed me, and shook me, and rattled me, and booked me.
He skewered me and threatened me, he scratched me, and took me!
Oh the shame, and the pain, the heat and lies,
They scorched me, and burnt me, and cooked me alive!

It was all I could to not be screaming aloud, if I could have screamed that is, if I just could have found
A way to poke myself, in the eye or the nostril
Anything to alert me to the presence of this hostile!
But alas I was listless, drowsing and drugged
Held under medication, and under his thumb at last!

But then - it was miraculous.
They saved me!

My thoughts, they had returned!
Bounding one after the next back onto the crispy, and and altogether weatherworn surface of my sizzling and sputtering brain
They leaped and bounded, joyously I'd add - the inconsiderate bastards, never mind their hosts present condition - over one another, and to and fro
Back and forth they clambered, making so much noise in their roughhousing and tomfoolery that not even a butterfly in the garden would have been able to nap through it all

But the butterfly's, you see, were in the shade.
The dirty Sun had no fingers pressed down upon their droopy little lids

And so I tossed and I turned, but still, that great cylindrical beast continued to impose it's wicked will down upon me
Until they, my thoughts, my saviors, shouted at last,
Hey!
And kicked me right in the face.

And finally, I had been raised at last!
My jaw a little worse for ware, and my skin as red as a baboons backside,
But alive and well.

Yes indeed, alive and well. And with no thanks to that asshole. The guy who's supposed to be my friend.
I looked up, shielding my cornea with my hand lest that dirty trickster would like to get in one more cheap shot
And shouted high into the sky, at the top of my lungs
"Not this time you fucking dick head!"

Achingly, but with a stern smile plastered resolutely across my burned and blistered face, I got up from my sticky plastic lawn chair that had been the only thing to have borne witness to that monsters wicked and dastardly attempt on the life.
I looked down upon it for a moment, wondering what it might have to say for itself
But somehow, it managed to remain silent.

How in a time like this, some people remain emotionless, I'll never know... I mumbled to myself, kicking it's feeble little leg, just to get back at it for all that it had done. It had just let it happen, after all. The nerve.

I groaned, and made my way back inside the cool house at least.

"Goddamn, what a sunburn!" I said out loud to myself, with an uncomfortable little laugh, as I looked up and down upon my blistered and singed skin. "I need some Aloe Vera, or some kind of cream!"

Hello Sun!.png

Sort:  

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Gruesome from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.