Sort:  

No. I had no insurance. The property was owned by a family I knew. While in Germany, the son that we trusted who was managing the property was sent to rehab and replaced by a destitute drug addict. Since I was the only one there who had any resources, my unit was targeted.

The father died of cancer in 2014 leaving the wife losing her son to drugs. Since I knew her, I did not have the heart to sue as is the custom here in America. She's been through so much, including having managers steal from the family. My conscience would have eaten me alive if I had taken her to court. The building manager was fired. They offered to sell me the building at a discount, but knowing it was going to be closed, I declined.

Ahh ok.

Well for what it is worth, I think you did right not to head to the courts. Just one of those things in life that you have to take on the chin I guess.

Cheeky gits trying to sell you the building though!