Stepping up ⬆️

in #work4 years ago (edited)

Applying For a Promotion


D36234B2-EF62-4779-933C-DEB4C48C877D.png

Today I made a big decision. After much deliberation and doubts, I decided to apply for a promotion at work

Go back in time to last year. I was ready to quit, I hated my managers and could not care if the loss of income meant that my family would be eating basic rations while dad claimed what little money he could to sit on his backside and blame all my woe’s on others.

I remember finishing work one time and sitting down to my computer to produce (what I would call) my biggest rant on life and work. I was that angry that the reader could most likely smell the stench of hatred from my words.

read that post here
https://steemit.com/work/@father2b/i-m-done

This, without a shadow of doubt, was the start of downward spiral that lead me to take sick leave for several months with work related stress.

Fast forward to present day and things are seemingly different now.
I have taking reigns of my emotional state and returned to work. The management that once was are no longer and the work place has become a more pleasant place to be.
That much so that when I seen a opportunity for a promotion, I wondered if it would be worth my while giving it a go.
The Job comes with a substantial pay increase which for some should be enough to drive there ambitions. For me though, I have worked for the same company for almost 15 years So I know that with great money comes greater stress.

Don’t get me wrong the money would be nice but my state of mind and family are what matters the most. But it’s the challenge that excites me and has persuaded me to give it try.
I truly believe I have a strong chance and with great caution I am going to take it on.

FC421569-F1EF-42BE-8FDD-2FFB7DB5925F.png

pixabay

Hopefully with in the next few weeks, I will be writing a post to say that I got the position but if not then at least I gave it a shot. What’s another 15 years when you already have that under your belt.

Thanks for reading

C13DD669-525B-495D-AAD5-144C4E221D80.gif

Sort:  


Congratulations @father2b!
You raised your level and are now a Minnow!

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!