Unslave Yourself

in #work7 years ago

I imagine a life where I don't have to get up and answer to anyone else. I imagine a life full of things that I want and places I want to go. A life with zero time constraints. I want to be free don't you see! But what is free? Some would say that I am "free" now. That couldn't be further from the truth. I'm a slave; just like you. I'm on the 40/40/40 plan; just like you. As of now you and I both will work 40 hours a week for the next 40 years of our lives with hopes of being able to live off 40% of our current pay. We are not free! This begs the question did I choose this? Does one choose this or are we discretely funneled into this direction of slavehood?

The answer lies in public schools. They beat the creativity out of us. If you're an artist, barber, dancer, singer, an athlete, a dreamer or a believer you'll be told:
"Do that on your own time!"
"Not in the house! You should be focused on your work!"
"Sit down! "
"Stop talking!"Sit still! "
"Don't touch that!"
"You have 50 minutes to take this test!!"

All of which are commands. You have been trained. Guess what you do everyday when you go to work?

You sit down, you shut up, you do your work, you forget your dreams. It's time to wake up and Unslave yourself.

Sort:  

Wow...nice one @huntacrypto very true.the modern work place has fashioned us to sit at a place and work our health to death little wonder I posted on same topic on how our chairs are killing u slowly... We need to be self reliant and build our future ourself... Be creative and forge ahead...thanks for sharing...

Indeed I strive to better myself each and everyday. Teaching myself new skills to live and create a better life for myself and my family.

Wow... You doing great @huntacrypto keep it up....do find tim also to check my last 2 posts... Regards

Nice to meet you, @huntacrypto! Welcome to the Steemit Community, wish you good luck and a good start, ive send you a small tip and followed you, hope you have an amazing day! :)