Haggle Trouble, My Daily Breakfast

in #worklast year

Indonesia is a country rich in culture and history, but one aspect that I have grown to dislike is the haggle culture. As someone who works in retail, I have seen it all when it comes to haggling. On one hand, I understand the appeal of trying to negotiate a better price for a product, but on the other hand, I find that some customers take it too far.

As a clerk, I am only responsible for selling the items in the store. I do not own the store, nor do I set the prices of the products. However, I often find myself in a difficult position when customers haggle unethically low, offering prices that are significantly lower than the suggested retail price, sometimes they even try to haggle lower than the capital price. If I were to agree to these low offers, I would be breaking the rules and putting my job at risk.

It is important for customers to understand that the prices of products are not set by retail workers like myself, but by the store owners or the manufacturers. We simply follow the guidelines set by our superiors and do our best to provide excellent customer service. When customers haggle in an unreasonable and rude manner, it can make our jobs difficult and unpleasant.

Also when customers haggle too low, it can also hurt the store's profits. Retail businesses rely on making a profit in order to keep their doors open, and when customers haggle for prices that are too low, it can have a negative impact on the store's bottom line.

I believe that the haggle culture in Indonesia has its merits, but it is important for customers to be mindful and considerate when negotiating prices. We simply following the guidelines set by the store owners and manufacturers, and we should not be punished or treated rudely for it. A little understanding and respect can go a long way in making the retail experience a pleasant one for both the customer and the worker.
Sale window
Image Source

Sort:  

Congratulations @quartvocado! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 1 year!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the January PUM Winners
Feedback from the February Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge - January 2023 Winners List
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

Time does fly, isn't it 😃

Happy Hive Birthday @quartvocado
🎉🎈🎂🎉🎈

Thanks, mate