I'm back to posting, partially

in #work3 years ago

Hello, again!

It's been around a month since I posted anything here, and for a good reason - I've been away with work for all this time, having nothing but my phone with me which I hate typing on.

Therefore I've been inactive pretty much everywhere - until now. After a month of hard work I was finally able to purchase a laptop and now, having a proper keyboard, I can begin writing and posting once again.

There is, however, a problem, and that is time - I don't have much of it. Most of my time is spent at work and when I have a break, I usually sleep or try my best to relax. I work in two shifts, with one 2-3 hour break in between (4 hours of work in the morning, then a 2-3 hours break, then another 4-5 hours in the evening) and in that break I usually sleep to recover from the morning shift and to prepare myself for the evening one.

Therefore, while I might be publishing one or two articles from time to time, nothing is set in stone. I have one free day a week, and usually that day is filled with different activities, most of them involving shopping for necessities and, once in a while, something fun with my girlfriend, which takes most of the time from that day.

However, now that I finally have a laptop, I might post one or two things whenever I have some spare time that I have nothing to do with.

Besides, even thought I'm well paid at this job, it doesn't hurt to have another source of income (in this case Hive, and the rewards I receive from it), and so it might benefit me to focus some of my attention on posting.

Another thing aside from writing that I want to also invest some of my time into becoming better at programming and scripting, so that will also require some of my free time, but at least there's a benefit for my profile here - I can share some of the progress with you, and we can be on this journey together.

Anyway, it's getting late and I spent most of today busy with all kind of things, therefore I'm not gonna write particularly interesting, but I hope that will change soon!

P.S - Since I am so busy lately, some of the articles I will post might have some spelling mistakes or just grammatical errors. I apologize for that in advance. Not only is it my first time typing for long periods of time on a laptop (actually, my first time owning an actual laptop, not a desktop PC), but since my time is so limited, I cannot always afford to spend a lot of it on editing and trying to correct every mistake. I'll do my best, but I can't promise my writing will be perfect.

Sort:  

I've been away with work for all this time, having nothing but my phone with me which I hate typing on.

Nowadays I do this all the time, because nowadays I do not have a PC, nor a laptop. Imagine typing a long post (more than 1000 words) on your smartphone. Nowadays I regularly do it.

That's why I stopped posting - I couldn't do it. I can't type on a smartphone at all. The keyboard is too small and the autocorrect is annoying. If I have it on, it changes the words in a way that I don't want. If I have it off, I make a lot of mistakes and I have to spend a lot of time correcting them. Whatever the case, it's a waste of time for me. It was better to stop, work for a month, then buy something I could afford that allows me to type on a proper keyboard.

work for a month

Good for you if you can buy a laptop after a month of working. Nowadays sometimes I have to choose between paying rent/bills and buying food. I receive a low pension-like income (because of my multiple disabilities), and nowadays I also work in a 4 hours part time job, but my total income still does not reach the local minimum wage. I know. I live in financial discrimination. Greetings from Hungary.

Sad to hear that, hope things will get better soon!

Welcome back! Sounds very busy, so be sure to take plenty of time to rest aswell :-)

Thank you! My time is often very limited because I try to spend my free time relaxing, but I might switch that for working, and only relax at night once work is completely done. I'll see how that goes for a while, and if I'll feel too tired, or burned out, I'll just switch back to relaxing every time I get the chance.

Happy to see you have a stable job and a good source of income. I also happy to see you put priority on getting well rested. Honestly I don't mind small mistakes here and there. I know many people say this is number one rule but the message is the king for me.

I wish I could post but sadly I cannot make hive work. I cannot power up the HIVE I have and I refuse to buy more HIVE because the purchase system sucks as well as the fees I would have to pay to move the HIVE to my wallet :/