Day 13 | With success at work you pay the price of more responsibility

in #work7 years ago

What is my blog about?

The day-count in my header relate to how many days I have been working at my new employment. The kicker is that I have won this and previous employments by successfully faking my CV, work experience and cheating on interviews.

It was a confusing day today!

I don’t know if it was the ridiculously large glass with high content of rum in my Cuba Libre yesterday evening, or if it is the stress that I have felt ever since I got my own office along with the increased responsibility. Whatever I do, the pressure has a grip on me. For a cheater like me, accumulating more work while still not knowing the basics is no good combination.

This makes me think if it is worth the money to get a higher paid position. There is a false wonderment when you dream to become the boss. All the glitz and glamour that a better position instills is what you see, but you never think of the increased responsibility, the increased pressure for you to execute and the higher you climb, the less people can support you when you struggle.

Well, I'm not at that top level yet. Honestly, I don’t know if I ever want to. But there is a romantic attraction with succeeding. I feel that I grow as a human and as a man, and it is nice to be able to have a good job when a person asks you what you do.

But before I go dreaming about anything more than I currently have, I must not forget that I got my job on fake premises and I do not belong here yet. So, I need to step it up. And the only thing I can do, not to look overly suspicious and create any unwanted attention to my fake past, is to work extra hours and hoping that pieces of various processes at work start to go together and leading to me actually doing some benefit for the employer that pays my attractive salary.

So today at work, not only do I need to cope with previous growing lists of uncompleted tasks and unread emails, I am still learning new things as a go along. And the positive feeling that staff around me seem to think about my current skillset at work, now I also experience staff coming to me with urgent tasks! They are not happy with me not being able to fulfill their requests!

Will be interesting what will turn out at the office for me after this week. Luckily, I spent the last half hour at work today with my boss. The good thing was that she must have realized that all the tasks laying and waiting for me where tasks that no one had prepared me for and I couldn’t really possibly do them without her help.

                                          -

I would much appreciate if people mention what they think of my blog concept and structure. Please come with constructive feedback! I would give help back to you in any way I could!

Thank you for reading!

                                           -

Quick links to my other blog posts: