Day 14 | When you do a major Booboo at your new job!

in #work7 years ago

What is my blog about?

The day-count in my header relate to how many days I have been working at my new employment. The kicker is that I have won this and previous employments by successfully faking my CV, work experience and cheating on interviews.

I did a big mistake at my new employer today

Nearly three weeks into my employment. It has been quite a ride with a lot of stress the past days since I moved into my very own office. With a nice salary, comes more responsibilities and stress for the cheating new guy at the office. A guy that didn’t know much about this position so to say, even though it requires several years of experience to earn such a position.

I still have no excuse for what I did today. I need to practice my responsibility and independence at work. Because in less than a month’s time from now, I will be on my own! I will have nobody to do my work for me. At least I get up to a ½ hour per day of guidance at the moment.

If you have ever worked in an office surrounding, you know that you shouldn’t download programs when you are logged into the integrated server. I just wanted a proof reading tool for word, such small things, I cannot go and ask my boss for, its obvious I should know how to do such petty tasks and handle them myself.

Well, I felt that updating such a minute detail in our MS Office couldn’t hurt. Boy was I wrong. Apparently, it started downloading a whole new office. And after the 15 minutes it downloaded, I had heaps of time to cancel the ongoing process. I was just too stubborn not wanting to waste the time I was waiting for the update “download” to complete.

It was very frustrating to realize that after the download was complete, I couldn’t open neither any MS Office program, neither my Outlook mail. Soon, my boss come out of the conference meeting that she was in and stated that everybody’s access to the same programs on the internal server experienced the same issue.

To make things worse, apparently this server links every employee in the global company. Are you kidding me? There should be more safety at a technology company than this? So, the senior IT department where put to the task and planned a complete outing, everybody have been asked to log off and stop work from this evening so that they could address the issue.

Moreover, during the day, no employee could even access programs such as Microsoft Office, Excel and Outlook. It was a catastrophe, and everybody knew it was me. What a fabulous introduction to the global company. Everybody will know my name. Not only does it look bad in my reputation, but it will bring a lot of extra exposure on me. This is especially not good as I'm trying to avoid standing out because of my cheating background.

Whatever happened, it was a positive environment around me in the office I'm working at. My boss took me in into a calming meeting and really lifted my spirit and motivation! This is the place I want to work for a long long time! I just better step up and stop installing things that halts the operations!

                                          -

I would much appreciate if people mention what they think of my blog concept and structure. Please come with constructive feedback! I would give help back to you in any way I could!

Thank you for reading!

                                           -

Quick links to my other blog posts: