New Website

in #worldofphotography6 years ago (edited)

Happy Easter everyone!

I am still here, even though I have been behind on schedule with the photography selection. I should get to that this week. With Easter, being in Copenhagen, but mostly this new amazing thing I want to share with all of you.

I have been learning how to build websites and this is my first creation. It should act as a platform for World of Photography.

Go to the website here

Screenshot 2018-04-02 07.12.18.jpg

Find the latest selections

Screenshot 2018-04-02 07.19.41.png

Get top rankings for xp, photos and contest wins

Screenshot 2018-04-02 07.15.09.png

Look up stats for any profile

Screenshot 2018-04-02 07.15.17.png

Screenshot 2018-04-02 07.20.45.png

Still testing

Feel free to break the website as I am still in the testing phase. Most of the core functionality is working though. At the moment there is no live connecting with the bot and the website. I will be working on that this week as well as having random photos from members show up all over the website. This will be a new photo every time you load and page and the photo will be randomly selected based on the amount of XP the member has. Also community channels like @positivexposure will be getting exposure on the website.

Since I will be working a lot on the website, it might stop working form time till time

Feel free to leave a comment with your thoughts about the new website


@juliank

Sort:  

Happy easter. And great first attempt! :)

I also interested. I shared my photo. Thanks for that opportunity.

@juliank, this is amazing! I checked it out this morning and am happy to still be among the top 25 even though I only post one photo a day! Now the site is offline so I guess you are working on some improvements :) Maybe you could talk to @photogames and include them as well?

I'm curious to know what you use to interact with the Steem blockchain - I heard that SteemSQL is a popular way, but it costs a monthly fee. Or do you do it all with steem-python? Also, do you have any of your code for the website or the photocontests bot available as on Github (could be great for an utopian post as well!)? We have some plans for @travelfeed that might include a steem-python bot, a Discord bot and a website, so it would be great to have some existing open code to use ;)

I will certainly have a look at @photogames.

I use steem-python to listen in on the steem blockchain and gather the data that I want to use and maybe store. The is made with a html template and the django framework. There is a link to the template creator on the website. There is a lot of code made available via @steempytutorials that are basically tools used to make everything work.

I am currently working my way through the excellent @steempytutorials, but I couldn't get steem-python to work with Anaconda Python, so I manually installed Python 2.7.12 and have successfully upvoted from the command line using the commands from the steem-python documentation, but when I try to execute the example python scripts you provide in @steempytutorials I am getting the error message "TypeError: can not encrypt/decrypt unicode objects".
Have you read the new post about Hivemind on @steemitblog? It might actually have many of the features that can now only achieved with a steem-python bot already implemented.

For the @steempytutorials I recommend going with with settings that are recommended. I installed a new droplet from digital ocean this week for the website. As long as you follow the #0 tutorial everything will work fine.

About the unicode, you might need to set your locales.

export LC_ALL="en_US.UTF-8"
export LC_CTYPE="en_US.UTF-8"

Also it is good practise to run your code on a server.

I have not the red new about Hivemind yet.

I followed the tutorial and even used a digital ocean droplet myself, the only difference is that I use Debian instead of Ubuntu but since Ubuntu is based on Debian it shouldn't make any difference.. I will try it again and set the Unicode locales, I had the language settings set to fit my German keyboard so that might have messed it up, thanks for the tip!

I checked it 3 times today, on different times but I always get this :
worldofphotography.jpg

So, at least, congratz with registering the worldofphotography.org domain ;-)

Haha thanks, it can take up to 48 hours for the domain registration to propagate through the dns server ;p

Hmm... and still...

Happy Easter:
although I was late with the selection of photography.

Happy Ester dear, this is really beautiful, thanks for sharing

I’m excited to all these new interactive features, I just needa win more contests, I guess.

How can I join

Happy Easter and awesome stuff!

The website looks awesome! Cool that you integrated rankings, it's quite motivating! Happy Easter! 🙂

Thank goodness you didnt bail on us.
Alot of whales are....

Oh, wow, Julian! This looks AWESOME!!!!!!!! No wonder you're behind schedule - but so worth it! Thank you for all that you do here: you are a Steemit rockstar <3 Jay xxx

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)

Congratulations @juliank ! Thank you so much for your work. In one word: Fantastic!

Congrats on your new website! It is an exciting time...

Great work! I love it :) Happy Easter

Your website looks good. Keep it up!🌵

I checked the website it’s really nice and easy to use it’s a great job ur doing here 👍🏼
Happy Easter to all of u

Alright, good...

This is awesome! Great idea too.

Nice! Great to see that! Keep it up. I would maybe also add soem ranking by ratio. Like how many photos were in contest and how many wins. But than you need some formula, beacuse if someone post one photo and wins is this 100% strike. Well from here I leave it to mathematicans. :)

I do not know how you find the time to run so many awesome projects! The website was a little slow to load, but very easy to navigate once I was there - well done!

Nice @photocontests, don't forget to upvote my blog..

The site looks great!

awesome Julian. great work!! 👍

Happy Easter and good luck with the website!

Good job!

Everything is perfect except the color of the textbox for searching an account. It would be better if the textbox is also printed as white rather than black, so that I can distinguish with the background.

Thanks,

Hi, I could see the new page and it's super fine, I liked it. Greetings.

Great! You're awesome, my friend! I love the aesthetics and the design of the website!

I checked out your website and all I gotta say is, BREATH TAKING!! You said you are a beginning but your site suggests otherwise. For someone who's still learning I gotta give it to you, it looks splendid. When do you think you will be finished with the bot integration on the site? I think that will be so cool

That is a beautiful website @juliank! Very nicely done. I am still trying to understand how to use all this, but I like how you feature the photos outside Steemit as well — it is like a "double exposure" for us!

=^..^=