Tofu Steak

in #worldsdailyfood5 years ago

A couple of weeks ago, I saw a video on facebook shared by one of my vegan friends. It was showing how a cow reacted prior to her being slaughtered. The details are stuck in my head and whenever I rember it, it stirs so much emotions in my heart. I don't really have plans on going vegan all the way through but right now, I can't stomach any kind of meat. I can't even look at the meat section of the grocery. So right now, I am going vegetarian.

As a result, I have only eaten tofu, veggies, and fish for the past two or three weeks. It's actually showing some positive effects. It helps me lose excess weight easier while I learn a lot of new recipe for tofu and fish. And for today's lunch, I made tofu steak. It's a version of bistek tagalog but I used tofu instead of beef. :D

This was actually very easy to prepare. All you need is some 4 pcs of tofu, egg plant, chopped onions, garlic, soy sauce, calamansi, sugar, water, and pepper.

To start, deep fry tofu until they are golden brown. While that's cooking, start juicingnthe calamansi. You'll need maybe 10 pcs. I love spur food so I used a lot of calamansi. :) You may also go ahead and start chopping the egg plant, onion, and garlic.

Once the tofu has been fried, slice them into small cubes or slices. Whichever way you want it. As long as they're not too tiny.

On a separate pan, sautee onion and garlic. Set aside a few onions for later. Go ahead and add the sliced tofu. Add about 1 cup of soy sauce, the calamansi juice and about half a cup of water. Mix thoroughly. Add sugar. Then add the egg plant.

Simmer for a few minutes just until the eggplant is cooked. And it's ready to be served.

Sort:  

Masarap kumain ofut :>
este tofu
or toefu
baka ufot
sige ufot nalang yung tawagin natin.

Tokwa na lang.

Man, that looks good, I had to double take because it looks like chicken or pork. This is definitely a dish I would like to try.

It's sweet, salty and tangy and the tofu is not too heavy. :) You should indeed go ahead and givr it a try. :)

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I love to eat Tofu everyday but it is sold at the market for expensive price

Posted using Partiko Android

5petot each lang dito s amin ang tofu. Not bad na rin kesa meat ang bilhin. Hehehe

Try watching a documentary sa utube ate, di lang sa baka, sinama pa manok,
un talaga, mawawala ang karne sa diet mo.

I saw other docu about pigs and chicken. :( I now realized pwede naman palang walang meat. Yung fish and egg lang talaga di ko maalis.

Hi @romeskie!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.885 which ranks you at #11563 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has dropped 1 places in the last three days (old rank 11562).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 182 contributions, your post is ranked at #122.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • The readers like your work!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server