Would You Rather: Have $1 Million Dollars Worth of STEEM or BITCOIN?

in #wouldyourather7 years ago (edited)

OK, It's not that simple... there is a catch, you have to hold on to it for 10 Years.

bitcoin_steem.png

STEEM

Now I know most of you on here will be gunning for STEEM without question and with good reason. STEEM has been killing it lately and seems to have unlimited room ahead of it without a real ceiling to stop it. Just take a look at what we already know in the chart below from the past run.

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 2.35.10 PM.png

That is one sweet looking chart!

And as I am posting this the price is still on the raise capping off at $2.77! Just have to love that price and what a difference from when it hit $.07 , a lot of people sold down in the low numbers, including myself, wish I just held on to all of it but at least I have some stashed away ;).

The potential for STEEM to skyrocket is defiantly a possibility in the near future and that $1 Mil could easily see 3x to 10x the profit! Making you a cool $10 Million! However just like that of bitcoin we could be a a massive crypto bubble and all of this hard work and awesome gains could come tumbling down back to reality :/. Also STEEM hasn't yet been around for very long and has yet to be truly battle tested. Yes, we did have our big pump and dump type turmoil happen early on but this could be considered growing pains and we really need to see how STEEM does over a long period of time. I personally look forward to the next few years of growth.


BITCOIN

Now with the price being so damn high some might think to get those 3x to 10x profit margins like that of STEEM's potential the price of BITCOIN would have to skyrocket into unheard of territories... But we are talking about bitcoin remember! Check out the chart from just the past year! Not to mention it is almost $3000 USD per BTC!

Screen Shot 2017-06-09 at 2.36.02 PM.png

That is some serious upward movement!

The thing to remember when trying to plan for 10 Years out is that a lot of things could happen, Obviously. We could see some serious swings in price from now and until then but for the majority of investors and the overall consensus of the crypto population is that BITCOIN has the best chance of survival out of any cryptocurrency and yes that includes STEEM.

So What Will It Be?

blue

P.S @trafalgar as someone who actually owns $1 Million STEEM, would love to hear from you ;)

Sort:  

Bitcoin is a gateway to cryptocurrencies and will be as long as there is no flat fiat exchange where we can buy all available currencies for real money. Steem, of course.

If i have to hold for 10 years, then i rather have it in steem instead of bitcoin. I believe that steem has much more potential to grow. Also with 1 million worth steem at hand, i will be able to make more steem through my daily activities at Steemit.

Defiantly

It depends on your risk tolerance and current net worth.

I'd guess steem has more upside (could see steem 50x what it is now, but not BTC), but BTC has a much higher floor and maybe even a higher median.

If you are very rich you should probably gamble on steem. if you aren't BTC is a safer thing to hold for 10 years.

Solid Points. 10 years is a long time, why I choose to include it in the question because I think most would go with STEEM short term and possibly start selling off at the first sign of good profit.

tumblr_ls4cxfHfOC1qjykxzo1_400.gif

I'd probably go with BTC just goes it's out in the mainstream now and will probably get one more crazed run atleast which I could then sell off and use all those profits to buy steem and still have $1 million sitting gaining interest I can live off of. :-)

If that crazed run came after 10 years ;) of course. well in the case of this would you rather anyway.

BTC of course....then buy a bunch of BTS STEEM & ETH

Who knows. I'm thinking Steem will go higher, it has more appeal. Sure bitcoin will be top dog because of popularity for some time, but once crypto is mainstream all alt-coins will have their turn and I don't see why bitcoin should be more appealing than STEEM. But that will happen.... maybe 20-30 years from now, I think.

20-30 Years.. wow that is some forward thinking

I mean :D
realistically, that is what it would take. Marketcap is still very low and most people don't care nor haven't heard of bitcoin. So there's so much room for growth still. And nothing tends to happen over night.
"Old habbits die hard."

I always will diversify risks, never have "all the eggs in the same basket". But for the rules of your post, i will choose have $ 1 million in STEEM.

Why?

Because i see this project blockchain, have too much scalability than bitcoin. If the Bitcoin network until now never can arrive in consensus, this surely will keep happening in the future and also like all technology have a time limited of use and always will go out new technologies better than present one.

I'll echo "never keep all the eggs in the same basket". But as a gambling man, I'd take that $1 Million and then keep adding more and more STEEM.

haha i know is a gambling. I will choose the same of you "all in" to STEEM :)

I love steem, but I'd definitely go with bitcoin on this one.

Seems to be the trend so far and I literally just posted this. No Faith in STEEM people?

Steem will be big, don't get me wrong, but bitcoin is already to large and is more widely known. The value of bitcoin will increase by more faster.

I have no doubt that bitcoin will be higher then where it is now in 10 years maybe even $20,000 a bitcoin? but then think even if in 10 years STEEM only manages to hit that $100 mark... were talking a lot more profit. Well of course everything is still a gamble and we don't really know... but I like the sound of both and especially $100 STEEM!!

Great question, as of right now I am voting for Steem. Because too many variables with the proposed Aug 1st fork. Until we know what exactly will happen... Steem seems more viable at the moment in my opinion.

Well both seem pretty viable atm but I'm leaning toward STEEM , as you can see from my responses. Although I own some Bitcoin as well.... for now. ;)

Personally, I'd diversify.

Holding $1m worth in 1 cryptocurrency doesn't sound like a smart thing to me!

Let me pose it this way : either you pick to own $1 Million of one of them or you get nothing lol what would you rather?

LOL, but that's not fair!

when you think about bitcoin has a history for about 8 years. it got to that point because of the housing bubble burst then there was the community coming together in the high and lows and blockchain & crypto technology booming.

So guessing you'd go with the $1 Mil Bitcoin?

why not both? divestment ;} that's why we on steemit.

i think steem is for long term like 3 year to Grow as it should be

If it is a present I would not care which one I get ;)
But in the end I'd choose bitcoin, just because it's spread wider and has more application fields.
But just as an investment both have great potential of growth

Do you not see STEEM being around for another 10 years?

I sure do, but bitcoin has already this high level of acceptance and can be used as a payment method in many ways. Steem still has to go a longer way.
Which doesn't mean I don't believe in it's potential, Bitcoin is just the safer & boring pick ;)

Definitely steem after seeing the price pump

Have to remember this is 10 Years in the future... this past price pump will have little effect on the price n 10 years although the slightest little thing could impact the future some say. Love you thinking tho ;)

I do hope you are right in your optimism,but I think announcements of legislation and intention to control Cryptocurrencies by governments will see a halt to the advance, or, perish the thought - a crash!

That's stay clear of any crash and any end game for crypto curreninces in general , that would be a sad world in 10 Years!

Thank you.

Great post!
Thanks for sharing and Steem on :)

That is a super tough question. Technologically STEEM is superior in a lot of ways but Bitcoin has that name recognition built out further right now.
3 months ago I would have said Bitcoin for sure but so many things changed so fast with STEEM and STEEMIT.
If I could power up the STEEM I would go that route because while I wait I can blog and generate more! WHAMMY ......... I win!

Very good point. I'm with you on that one! That $1 Million could be used for some serious goodness here on steam, influence and curation as well ;)

Yep for sure! It is unreal how things turned around on here though. I took a couple month break and came back over 3 months ago and was lucky to earn a couple bucks. Moral was low. Then BOOOOOOM things started changing fast and suddenly people who stick with their investments who had accounts worth $7,000 are now worth $200,000. NUTS in just a month and a half.

With $1,000,000 in Steem would generate pretty good curation rewards and decent blogging rewards during those 10 years, increasing the holdings all the time. I'll take the Steem.

Can i have both?

Think that would defeat the purpose of the would you rather... lol

Heh heh, yeah, but it would be sweet. As a Steemian I would take the STEEM, i feel very loyal to the platform, but Bitcoin. Aaargh! It's a dilemma!

Great post. Inspiration

Great post very helpful @blueorgy I will follow you

Sounds good to me, I'm nearing 1000 followers , everyone counts.

That's awesome. Have a great day

Interesting thought. Ideally, I would split it, but I think that I would rather go with Steem. Especially because of the use of powered up Steem!

Split, nah!

STEEM

Well, ideally it wouldn't be tied in either, but because it is, Steem!

You just read my mind. What can I say...I was going to comment few things about the prices and longer time periods, but... :D

Yes. I do have mind powers.

I thought so

Of course STEEM because 10 yrs = infinity (i'm not going live forever), and real horizon is 1 yr maximum. in 1 yr STEEM will bring much more than BTC

STEEM doublon within a year defiantly seems possible and harder for bitcoin to do the same.

Etherum :)

Sly fox. But it is a would you rather so sadly you must go with one or the other. but then again this is just a blog post. I personally sold a bunch of Etherum waaaayyyy too early :/ (was mining it for a while a year ago)

$1 million STEEM please!

I know right.

I'll take the million in BTC doubloons please :}

Both of them have different purpose. In the future I believe even more new technologies alike will be created, and each of them will have its own purpose. Same like in this case.
Bitcoin is like a gold. I do not think it will disappear, on the contrary I think it will continue to grow. It is used for transactions/exchanges.
Whereas Steem bringing something really new and cool for content creators. I am thinking on jumping in and create some content like: Tutorials or maybe even share free stuff and explain/show how i have created it.

P.S. I am new here :D still learning