The NWO was the best thing that happened in wrestling. An era gone by.

in #wrestling6 years ago

Wow, the most exciting time in wrestling. I was originally a WWF fan. After years of watching wrestling from 7th grade to my senior year, I lost interest. Until one day when I heard that Hulk Hogan had became a bad guy. So I had to check this out for myself expecting nothing less then a washed up Terry Hogan trying to extend his career a little while longer. I was so wrong.

He was in the best shape of his life and there was so much excitement in the crowd. The WCW had made big changes and paid big bucks to bring over the big names. The NWO was so believable that we weren't exactly sure what was scripted and what wasn't. WCW ratings grew and grew past WWF. Vince McMahon didn't just lay down and die. He kept pushing the envelope trying to boost ratings. Great characters were created because of it. My brother and I would keep switching channels so as not to miss anything from either show. It was exciting to see new members leave the WWF to join the NWO.

Like all great things, the Monday Night Wars didn't last forever or even that long when you think about it. Eventually the WWF regained the ratings and bought out the WCW. Sometimes lightning strikes and makes something special. The Nwo was just that. It took me, a guy that didn't watch wrestling anymore and when I did it was only WWF, to watching WCW & WWF all the time. It was such an exciting time. I'm so glad I experienced it.

Sort:  

thanks for visiting me @ Yankee-statman. I'll be upvoting you, too. I always watched WWF "back in the day"..actaully knew Hacksaw Jim Dugan....remember him? He was from my neck of the woods..

Oh yes I remember him "Ohhhhhhhhhhhhhhh"