A Blocked Writer's Neurosis in Real Time.

in #writers6 years ago (edited)

Writer's block in an inevitable thing that happens to every writer. We have grand ideas of how we are going to write a certain amount of material every day. We are going to get into the habit of writing so that it comes naturally. Perhaps we used to write at one time and decided to take a break. One morning we woke up, and we said to ourselves, "Okay, this is the day, This is the day that I am going to start writing again." With social media blogging sites such as steemit, the pressure is off as far as the topic is concerned. We can write about absolutely anything we want to. Judgment is not here for me at least as my articles barely even get read. Some may see this as a bad thing, but for a person with writer's block, I see it as an opportunity.

scribble.png

It is an opportunity to jump over that big writing hurdle knowing that I may write complete and utter gibberish and trip right over that big hurdle and land flat on my face. It eases my mind that there is nobody here to see it. Those that might are just other Steemians that at some point or other probably have been in the same boat as me. Folks like myself that enjoy putting few words together in hopes that those words will fall on to the page nicely. Many here are just looking for a little practice or believe such as I do, If we make ourselves write a little bit every day, we will build up our skill. Just as we play a computer game, take up exercise or partake in a talent. The more we participate on a regular basis, the better the results will become over time.

We can't expect that if we have been away from jogging for a few years or months even that we are going to spring out the door with great stamina and not get tired for hours and run miles hitting that runner's high immediately. We are smart enough to know that isn't going to happen. We know this isn't going to happen the first day, or the next or maybe even within a week. But we do believe however that eventually we are going to get there. We also know that the first days are going to be a struggle. We know it is going to take every ounce of our willpower to get up an hour earlier every morning. To put on those running shoes and make our way out that door. However, we will notice a few short-term benefits. We will take note of the fresh air and a change of scenery before tackling the day. We will feel a sense of well being and accomplishment when it is all over. When we go to bed with aching muscles at the end of the day, we will like that feeling, because we will know that we earned them.

Why can't we tackle writing be the same way? We know that it will feel awkward and uncomfortable to sit down and come up with brilliant work after time away. Perhaps we are putting too much pressure on ourselves to be perfect? If we accept the fact that what we end up writing might be clumsy and a little awkward, lacking wit and perhaps even real intelligence, we might surprise ourselves with a "not bad" attempt. Maybe we will find ourselves lost for ideas on what to write? I remember receiving the advice, write about what you know. It just so happens what I know right at this very moment is that I have writer's block.

If you have found this article because you too are suffering from writer's block I can assure you I can identify with what you are going through one hundred percent. So what got me motivated to jump back on that writing horse? I had a win recently. A cryptocurrency that invested in and I feel has potential was offering a prize to the top 3 articles written. I searched the web for new posts written for this currency, and I wasn't coming up with anything. I felt there were not a lot of submissions out there. The prize amount was worth it for me to submit just anything given the fact that the competition was so low. I forced myself to write. The pressure was off because I knew I could write just about anything and still stand a good chance. I waited until the very last day, actually the very last hours of the contest and I did it I wrote the article and won the prize. I forced myself out of my comfort zone, and it paid off. I realized what I wrote wasn't my best writing, but it wasn't half bad, and I got the writing bug again. I felt accomplishment. I made an effort, and it felt good. I wanted to do more. I was going to do more. I signed up for a freelance writing site. I got turned down. I thought well maybe I'm not ready for that yet; I will go back to steemit and get some practice. However, it wasn't quite as easy as I thought it would be. When I sat down in front of the blank page, my mind went equally as blank.

When I started on steemit about a year ago, I had goals to write every day. I thought as long as I was consistent and forced myself to write about something, anything on a regular basis, I would gain followers, and maybe even make a little money. I didn't get these results and just gave up. Now with a new fresh start, my best hope is to find a stray someone that actually reads what I have written and maybe even likes it enough to post a comment thus offering me a little validation. They might say something like, great to see you back at it. You can do it! Keep going! They might even offer some advice or relate a similar personal experience. That to me would make this all worth it, but if that doesn't happen, the most important thing is I am here, writing my completely original 1000 words for the day. I am sharing my point of view from a first-hand perspective of the neurosis a writer feels when making a best attempt to get over writer's block.

I just checked how many words I wrote. I'm at 946. It looks like I made it! It's not perfect by far, but I achieve my goal in the face of adversity. I put on those sneakers and opened the door and put one foot in front of the other and slowly and awkwardly propelled myself to the finish line. I'm out of breath and exhausted, but I did it, and that's all that matters. Tomorrow is a new day and a new blank page. I don't know what I will write. It might just be about the fact that I came back.

Sort:  

They might say something like, great to see you back at it. You can do it! Keep going! They might even offer some advice or relate a similar personal experience.

Don't give up the summer. Writing relaxes people. You're expressing your feelings very well. I find it successful

Thank-you so much baycan for the encouraging words. It really means a lot to me. I do find writing relaxing once I get into it. It's just the starting part that makes me feel anxiety.

The rest comes when you start writing. Write whatever is in your interior. Do it for yourself. That'll comfort you. 🤗

I can certainly attest to many of the things you point out.

You've just publicized a test of your self-discipline. I encourage you to reach your goal! Without self-discipline we really have very little.

This is so true. I feel that being on steemit and writing holds me a little more accountable to my commitment as now I actually have witnesses. I'm finding that its a bit difficult to get my brain in gear, I am out of practice and just figuring how to use different tools to make researching and organizing of information easier. Like anything the more I practice the easier it will get. I'm hoping by the end of 30 days I will be a whiz at this.