You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Over 20 Club - A look Back!

in #writing6 years ago

Congrats on joining the over 20 club @omra-sky.. Well deserved my friend, I have enjoyed many of your freewrites since joining you guys a month ago.. great to ctahc up on some of your old ones through this post..

That poem about Peter brought a tear to my eye, The way he was shot down in cold blood was despicable, as were so many other deaths on both sides of the religious divide in the troubles as they called them. I hate euphemisms like this - call them heartless murders, which is what they were.... But instead of dwelling on the sadness, I'd like to thank you and your family for taking in this young Irishman at his time of need, and showing him love and friendship.. It's clear to see you were ready friends.. No doubt but Peter is watching down on you, and has your back. And a special mention to Denis Mulcahy, the founder of Project Children too, what an amazing man... I found out all about it recently on the Late Late show in Ireland last year when they did a special on Denis and Project children. He's a legend of a man.. RIP Peter

Sort:  

Thank you for the kind words and your support. Yes, it's even more tragic when children get caught up in the conflicts perpetuated by previous generations. Though it was brief, I'm glad I was able to call Peter my friend. I was sorry to hear that Project Children came to an end. I can only hope it's because it's not really needed anymore.

Yes, it was sad to see it come to and end, but there are many countries around the world that would benefit from the same kindness and altruism today.