DYSLEXIC SONNET

in #writing6 years ago (edited)
  • What should i read?
  • Sight became a mystery
  • Heavy words blurred my eye from seeing their meaning
  • The words swam lazily across the river of melancholy
  • Envisaging my redemption, I dived in hopelessly
  • Tears hurriedly choked my eyes
  • Amidst this myriad of meaningless lines
  • Confusing words and numbers lay side by side
  • This is cognitive skill i do not pride
  • Fear gracefully embraces me on sighting a book
  • I dare not read, All i do is look
  • My fortress of hope had been breached
  • I tried, i failed, i tried again yet i can't still read.
  • I can see yet i'm blind, oh! When would i be free?


While growing up i was diagnosed with a ADD( * Attention deficient disorder*) i was not able to read up to the age of 14, This affected me psychological, Academically, socially and emotionally, so after this many years i decide to write a sonnet for kids suffering from dyslexia to identify with them as one of their own who managed to overcome the deficiency with the help of a determined mother and a loving teacher.

Unforunately here in Nigeria, there are a lot of kids who are suffering from dyslexia and don't have the kind of support i had. This affects the morale and grades of the child in school and if not properly managed would consequently add to the number of illiterates in the country ( either stark or semi literates )

Early diagnoses and treatment(* either by the guardian, parent or teacher *) would go a long way in helping the child integrate well into the society and Avoid shame and depression.

Every child matters!!!

Thanks for reading, kindly upvote or resteem