Writing Contest - My favorite person is the Witch of all Witches: Grandma.

in #writing5 years ago

image.png


I was thinking about who my favorite person could be, and I laughed after a few seconds because there is no question whatsoever, my favorite person is my grandma.

For a few reasons she raised me, I grew up next to her and my second favorite person (sorry), my grandpa, who I call Papi, which means "daddy", and no one understands why I call him that, but everyone else in the family calls him that so... whatever.

You'd say that she's my favorite person because she's my grandma and she raised me, but no. This is an exceptional woman, with an exceptional life.

Grandma is the most interesting person I know, the most aventurer, the one with the most crazy stories to tell, and the person who has taught me the most. She's just awesome.

When I was younger (and even now every time I get to see her) I used to love sitting down next to her to hear her talk about her life. Because she's done so many great, funny. weird, amazing, things, that I would never get tired. I used to say I would write a book about her life, and I still might.

Once she told me: "You have to do something different every day so you get a new story to tell all the time." So she does things all the time, to go out with her is always an interesting experience.

Once we were waiting in a line for hours an she got bored and walked down the street to sit down with a fruit vendor to sell fruits with him. She would talk to everyone that passed by, called all the men handsome, all the women beautiful, told them the prices, acting like she had done that her whole life.

She likes to wear costumes. She used to wear a Santa costume every christmas, and after some years she started wearing a Mrs. Claus costume. She's dressed up as a gipsy, as a witch, as a stripper, as an african queen, as a can-can dancer... I think she dressed as Michael Jackson once.

The Stripper story is one of my favorites. She did it on Father's day. She and her best friend prepared a lot of adult toys and stuff to go around the neighborhood to give all the fathers a "striptease". She didn't really strip down, she used plastic boobs that looked realistic enough. The funniest part is my grandpa, he's a very serious man (It's still a mystery for me how he can go along with her fabulous craziness), I can only imagine what his thoughts on all of this were.

Some of my aunts say they used to get embarrassed when they were younger and they went out with her, because she always does unnexpected things. I get it, because sometimes she's extreme, but also I'm kind of used to it by now, for me it's always been normal and funny. Though I do get embarrassed sometimes.

She often says things like "Maybe I didn't go to school and I don't know much about geometry, but look at my arepas, look at how round they are." And it's funny for me because she's actually one of the smartest people I know. She can solve any problem immediately, in the most creative way. Even when I think it's impossible, she does it anyway. Somehow. I swear it's a superpower.

She's the queen of our family, the witch of all witches, the major witch.

When I was little I used to think we were so different. But as I grew up I could understand her better, and I can see I am like her in many ways. Probably not in the most awesome ways. But I know I like to dress up. And I like to say compliments to random people just because I get to make someone smile. Sometimes if I see a red cayenne on the street I wear them behind my ear, just as she does. But if I ever get to be half as strong as my grandma, that would be more than enough.

There's really not enough words to express who she is, there is no way I can explain how amazing she is in a post, but I'm trying. Just multiply it all by x100.

She's helped me all my life. Her love is a light for me when all I can see is darkness. She says the kindest words, she loves me in ways I cannot love myself. She tries to understand me like nobody else does, and even when she doesn't, she accepts me and loves me regardless. "She's a well made grandma." I'm not crying.

I thank the universe for picking her to be my granma. She's made me a better woman, she has save my life without knowing in countless occasions, and she keeps teaching me the greatest lessons everyday. I thank her for being my mom's mom, for her support, for the love she gives me even when we're far apart. I cannot imagine my life without her.


All pictures are mine. Someone will read this and tell her I wrote it and she will ask me what pictures I used and what did you all said.


Enter the contest.

Sort:  

Lol matching glasses with grammy! Too cute

She saw them at a store and she told them to buy them for her, she doesn't even need them, she just liked them because they were "cool."

Lol she is defs no regular grandma shes for sure a cool cat, cool grandma! Hopefully we both age as gracefully as she has :P thats the dream

I think my favorite part was the little "I'm not crying." hidden in there.

It's just salty water coming out of my eyes for some strange reason.

I have problems with allergies myself lately. Wake up with dry eyes. Have to use some saline drops pretty much every day these days. Maybe you should get some yourself. :P

You and your gradma are very beautiful . :)

Haha this is so awesome! The pictures are epic! My grandma was also a witch. She died and I never really knew her but thats what everyone said!

And I like to say compliments to random people just because I get to make someone smile.

Thats so awesome! We would really get along!

Haha all grandmas have superpowers!

I have a badass grandma too! She's turning 68 next year (don't tell her I said that publicly :o) but her soul is just as young as mine. She's incredibly active, adventurous and funny. We could easily be roommates, partners in crime, best friends. Your entry about your grandma brought out many thoughts about all the love I have for mine :)

We can just hope our souls will remain as young as theirs. I'm glad you enjoyed it <3

I wish I had as badass grandma as you! At least she gives me money, haha.

That should counts as badass, she could give you nothing instead haha

Fair point, haha.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here