NEW LOVE

in #writing6 years ago

Two strangers cross paths either by accident, as a coincidence or because the circumstances forced them to meet. They exchange a word or two and boom!!! They like each other. They think huh, we can be friends. They start meeting often. This time for coffee, another time for lunch or for a walk. They may be in a group of people or just them two, but they always have this connection that makes them feel as if they are alone. One is shy and the other is bold. One is full of fear but the other compensates this fear with courage. And soon they realize that it’s not just friendship anymore. It’s something more, but neither is ready to share. Other people start asking questions. “What’s up with you and so and so?”, ”I see you two are getting close 😉”… “What?? We are just friends 😶” They wonder if the other said something about them, told people that they felt something. Finally, the guy gathers courage and decides to speak out… in form of a love letter.
“Dear A,
I know that we’ve barely known each other for a long time and it may sound weird but please allow me to say what I’ve been thinking for quite some time now. When I first met you, I thought you were the most awkward person I have ever met leave alone seen. But then I got to know you and I realized that you’re not awkward; you’re just a beautifully unique human being. I know I sound like I am exaggerating things but this is my opinion of you. You made me view the world from a different perspective. You know like looking through a kaleidoscope; this is what I saw looking at the world from your eyes. The world just got that much colorful. I’ve always enjoyed your company. I like your smile, your laugh, the way your eyes become smaller and watery when you laugh hard. Always makes me laugh with you even when I don’t understand what the joke is all about. I like how you bite your lower lip when you are deep in thought or how you scratch your head when trying to find a solution to a problem. I like how you jump up excitedly when you finally get a solution; that phrase, what was it again? ‘Eureka, I’ve found it!!’ always cracked me up. I like that you’re a good listener. Every time I have a problem, you’re always there to give an ear. You may not have any solutions but this is always enough. I do not like to see you troubled or sad, it makes my heart cringe. But even when I cannot make the sadness go away, you know that you have a shoulder to cry on if shedding of tears is necessary. I like how your petite figure fits into mine every time we hug either hi or bye. Interestingly, I like the times we just sit there silently with nothing to tell each other. Occasionally stealing glances and looking away thinking the other hasn’t seen. I like how stubborn you are which leads us to have unending arguments. I like how strong-willed you are, that you never let anything keep you down. I like that you are a God fearing person. This is the reason I am convinced that you were made for me 😂. My missing rib maybe, if that actually exists. Most of my sentences begin with ‘I like’. Replace all the likes with love. The little I know about you makes me want to know more. The little time I have spent with you makes me want to spend more time with you. You may have probably heard all this before and it may all sound cliché but I’m just being sincere. This may not be a beautiful poem, it may not be a song, hell it may not even be enough to be called a love letter. But it is the true expression of what I feel the best way I know how. So many words and am not sure I’ve brought out any message. I guess what am trying to say is, I love you. Every bit of you, all your perfections and flaws, everything. I’d like us to be more than just friends, if you’d accept me. What say you?
Yours truly
-D- ”