You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: CALLING ALL WRITERS. LETS MAKE #WRITINGPROMPTS A THING.

in #writing7 years ago

I love the idea of writing prompts, and I like this concept as well. The only thing I'd suggest is, instead of responding with the story in the comments section, having people write a separate post and linking it back to the prompt here in the comment section.

Sort:  

I don't agree. You can quickly navigate through all the 'top-level comments' (comments to the post, not comments to other comments) by clicking the minus sign.

If you'd have to click a link to another post to read a submission, return to the writing prompt post, click another link to read the next one... Now that would create clutter instead of preventing it.

Just posting the story in the comments is how it's done on Reddit too, and it works. However, when the writer decides he wants to write more (extra chapters for example), he links to his own blog. Than you can continue reading there.

Here's an example of how it works on Reddit. The top comment is a story in response to the writing prompt. But since it is so popular, the writer decides to continue writing on his own blog. I think this is how it should work here as well.

Well you and I have different understandings of cluttered. Scrolling down, and down, and down again, and down some more is a much bigger pain that opening a story in a new tab, reading it, and tabbing over. It also has the advantage of providing the author with the ability to earn rewards on the separate post, which has greater visibility than a nested comment. If the story is good, I'd want these comments to drive readers to the story itself so the author can be rewarded for content on top of the general interest it garners.

Different strokes for different folks, I guess. In the end, as long as people are writing, it's not relevant. At the end of the day it's @iamjustincscott's brain child. :D

I agree that scrolling is a pain, that's why I minimize a comment after I've read it. You can do that using the minus sign next to the comment.
Have you checked out the example I gave of how it works on Reddit? It's a wall of text and endless scrolling, but if you minimize what you've read, you can read it through in no time.
Of course, to each his own. If you still prefer linking to your post than you should do that. :)

I agree, I think that would be the best method as well. Although, theres no reason they couldn't do both either.

None at all! I think it would be a little bit less clutter and easier to navigate, but ultimately if we're posting, that's really the point of it :D

Exactly. That plus interaction : )