Journal From a Submariner XVI

in #writing7 years ago

DATE 16SEP10, TIME 1543
How many people are thinking of my birthday? Even if they are thinking of it, why does it matter? I’m not going to receive a gift from anyone. I have not celebrated a birthday in years, but still...I wish I could be with you today.
Remember on your birthday when we pulled in for the day because some miscellaneous component broke down in the engine room, that was an amazing day together. That is the luckiest I am going to get while in the Navy.
Today I have stood watch and slept. Great 21st I’d say, one for the ages. Who gets to say they spent their birthday on a submarine, now that’s a birthday present, if I ever saw one.
I’m done feeling sorry for myself, and I’m going to go to sleep before my next watch.
Love you, forever and always, love babe.