I just got fact checked on Facebook about some Covid-19 stuff...

in #writing4 years ago

Hmm... Wow... This is kind of funny and also kind of disturbing.
Just got a new notification from Facebook that I don't remember ever getting before.
It said something I posted was wrong and that a "team of independent fact checkers" fact checked it and put a disclaimer next to it for other people so they can know it's "false".

hahahled.jpg

I have seen similar before on other people's posts on FB in the past and on YouTube as well...
But, lemme get into some more details to explain even more why I think this is weird.
Actually, first... Lemme just say that... I don't mind other people or groups sharing their perspective, but, when it's forceful, in a politically motivated manner and it's inaccurate in it's language and conclusions, then... I can see some potential concerns here.

So, apparently one of the YouTube videos I posted had some claims in it that these "elite fact checker" people didn't agree with.
I didn't even get a chance to watch that video yet, I was just sharing it to remind myself to watch it later and to share it with others cause it looked interesting.
It was about investigating the origin of the Covid-19 virus and apparently something was said that suggested the virus may have been human manipulated and they claim that is false and that the virus is natural.

Here's the key part of their claim.

"Multiple scientific studies have indicated that the virus has a natural origin, not the result of human engineering"

But, did you catch the wording in their very own main claim? "INDICATED"... Indicated is not "proven". How can they claim it's false, if it's not proven and only indicated?

Some people like to say stuff like... "The majority of evidence points that direction, so we go with that."
Yet, that does not mean you are right, just because the most evidence points in that direction.
Back when things started getting bad I asked if anyone could prove where the virus originated, no one could.
Then I asked the question again recently and no one could, a few even said it was impossible to prove.

I've read numerous of the main studies about the origin of the virus and they conclude the same, they think the evidence points towards a natural cause, but, they can't prove the origins.
No one I've seen seems to be able to prove the origins, but, these people are "fact checking" as if they know 100% when even in their own argument they say "indicates"... smh
I try to stay open minded and this doesn't make me automatically think they are trying to cover up the origins, but, it does kinda feel suspicious when others go so much out of their way to try to tell us a specific story.

The more they try to "force" the narrative and sanitize the details and spin their particular story, the more strange looks.
It really does seem like they are worried about people thinking for themselves and questioning the "official conspiracy theory".
Going to finish this off with saying that... Just because a certain amount of experts believe something, or a certain amount of people... Doesn't make it true.
If they can prove 100% without a doubt there was no intentional human manipulation, let them present that "proof" instead of trying to basically control the narrative with "authoritative" words.

And if I'm wrong here, about anything. I give anyone the opportunity to show that. I'm willing to look at new evidence and change my perspective if the evidence is compelling enough.
So far, none of the evidence I've seen has proven to me 100% for sure without a doubt what/where the origins of the virus.

Sort:  

LOL... it's only "false" because there is no mainstream media saying it... until today when FOX says sources say the virus came from bio weapons lab essentially. They don't know it's false. It's a possibility, that they want to deny is even possible by saying it's false.

I wonder if this has anything to do with that Facebook ...umm scandal? (Not sure what to call it) that happened a few years ago where that marketing firm (forget the name) basically made up all sorts of shit that wasn't true and posted it to social media to influence voters during the presidential campaign. Facebook got in a lot of shit for allowing untruthful information and blatant lies to be spread on their forum. Since FB has essentially become a news source for the public, policy makers strongly advised FB to start fact checking the content that was posted to the site and to remove statements that weren't true that could influence the public. I thought this was only for paid content though. Basically the philosophy behind it is that you don't want a wealthy political group or other country to be able to influence another country's elections by running untruthful campaigns. There is a documentary on the whole thing on Netflix. Watched it last year but of course I forget the name of it lol.

Anyway, facebook got in a lot of shit over that whole event so I wonder if this new policy is related to that?

It sucks that your stuff was removed or flagged though. Thats frustrating.

The documentary was "The Great Hack" and the marketing firm was "Cambridge Analytica"

I wonder if it relates to those events?

Did they at least provide links to these studies and their specific conclusions? I'm betting the didn't...