Sort:  

Interesting comment, Alex. I tink when you view someone's life from the outside it seems different whereas living it can sometimes take on a fairytale aspect. I try to make the implausible plausible and I'm often surprised when someone remarks that something I wrote about couldn't have happened, when it happened to me. Don't get me wrong - most of my life is mundane and slow-paced like a sleepy Maeve Binchy novel, but even I have experienced things that seem fantastical. Verisimilitude is a major concern with me because my aim is to write what I know, not make things up but write them down as close as possible to my own lived experience. Believe me, I get a lot of grief from people who become characters in my novels or see themselves in my poems or stories. I can't help it - I need input :) And yes, I've been told I'm an incurable romantic...and it's true, I really am, lol