Bored Passenger

in #writing4 years ago

I'm bored of the scenery, the looks
There's only seven story books
Written for children, with basic plots
How can this be all that was brought?

I yearn for more, and yet I fear
A
Turn of the next page, the next year
Instead I write in margins of passed pages, lost
Between a forefinger and thumb, a turn, held

"Please, let me drive," a demand, less a plea
Captive, a passenger in my own skin
The side views and rear windows, foggy, blocked
Only starry headlights, white, and red, ahead

"Get out of the car."
"This one's mine."

I put a bullet in my own head for their trouble
Then drove an old car straight north off a bridge

"They didn't fucking pay me enough."

Sort:  

Congratulations @autrielle! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made your First Vote

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!